Skip to content

Ok, so maybe a creature is stirring

December 25, 2011

Technically, it’s Christmas but I’m still calling it Christmas Eve because it’s night and it’s not tomorrow yet.

Yeah, try to follow the logic on that one.  And yes, it does make sense to me.

I am exhausted.  Didn’t manage to sit down to the computer until about 11pm, but since I didn’t blog yesterday (GASP!) I figured I’d better do it today.  The past two days have been cram-packed.  Today I baked and this evening we all decorated cookies.  I know I’ve done more than that today, but my brain called it a night and went to bed about half an hour ago and if I try to wake it up to get it to tell me what else I did today, there’s no telling what might happen.  It is never good to provoke one’s brain to vengeance.  It is, after all, in charge of things like breathing and bladder control.

Not a creature is stirring at the Sparky house except for a cat, and if I don’t lock Agent Dorkbutt in the back room before I go to bed, he will be yowling and clawing at the bedroom door by 4am, wanting breakfast.  The stockings are hung by the non-functioning gas fireplace with care, and I bought hangers for them this year instead of using masking tape so they can hold a lot more coal (or chocoate) than in years past.  Rumor has it that for the first time ever, Santa will be leaving wrapped gifts under the tree.  He has always left little piles of unwrapped gifts in the past.  I think he was saving on the cost of paper and the time it takes to wrap that stuff, but I suspect this year he was thinking that wrapped gifts can be left a lot earlier in the evening than unwrapped ones.  Or maybe he’s just mixin’ it up for us this year.

I have decorated cookies to put away, a sign that I’m blessed with extra things to eat.  I have a rotten cat to go fuss at, a sign that I’m blessed with extra resources to support more than the immediate family.  I have  presents under the tree, a sign that I’m blessed with thoughtful and giving friends and family.  I have someone sleeping in every bedroom in this house tonight, a sign that I’m blessed with a solid home and family to fill it.  My needs are supplied, but so are many of my desires, and I know that anyone who can say those things is rich by any standard, even if they don’t have a fat bank account.

I am ridiculously blessed by an extravagant God.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 25, 2011 11:37 am

    Merry Christmas, my friend! My life is richer because of your friendship! For that I am very thankful!!

Leave a comment