Skip to content

Happy Merry-ness

December 27, 2011

The holiday season will soon be over.  I will miss the part where the season is meaningful and festive, but there are a few things I won’t miss.   One of the things I really won’t miss is the whole Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays debate.

I celebrate Christmas.  It’s not a secular holiday for me…it truly is a holy day.  But I know it’s not that way for everyone, and I see no reason to insist that those who do not subscribe to my belief system give lip service to it by saying “Merry Christmas” unless they have a personal desire to do so.  It would be disrespectful and arrogant of me to make such an insistence, and God would not be honored by my attitude or any pressured acquiescence on the part of others.

If you are Jewish, I hope your Hanukkah was happy.  If you do that Kwanza thing I know nothing about, well, I hope it was a groovy time for you.  If you really don’t believe in much of anything, then I hope this is the year you get restless and hungry and begin searching for the answers to those questions deep inside you that you don’t know how to articulate.  I will not be offended if you wish me Happy Holidays.  With three major holidays packed into a five-week span, I hope they are happy!  I will likely return your good wishes with a Merry Christmas, but not if I believe that doing so would cause you to close your ears to anything else I might have to say.  It’s just not worth it for that.  Especially over a phrase that basically means “I hope you are happy and well during this season”.

So if you are inclined to greet me and wish me well, then do it from the framework that is in your heart, whatever that might be, and know that I’m totally cool with that.  I’d rather have something real from you than something I might call “right” but would actually be fake.  And I don’t believe Jesus would be bothered by it either.  He’s never been one for hanging out with the religious crowd all that much. Real is better.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

