Skip to content

Internet Blackout

January 17, 2012

On Wednesday, January 18th, Hey Sparky will be silent.  I would love to join the many sites on the internet that are actually participating in a blackout (WordPress being one of them), but I do not have the sort of blog that permits me to use a blackout plugin.  So…silent is the best I can do.

So why a blackout at all?  Well, there’s a pretty awful bill floating around Congress, and it will affect you even if all you do is play on Facebook now and then. It’s called the Stop Online Piracy Act, or SOPA.  The bottom line (in a simplistic description)  is that people in the entertainment industry want the right to censor the rest of the internet and sue anyone they perceive as threatening copyright.  There’s more to it than that, of course, but what they want to do, the government has already agreed to do for them, but that hasn’t been enough.  The fallout of this bill being passed would be huge.  It threatens online security, freedom of expression, and technological advances.  You can get a much better explanation of it all here.  And you can take a couple of minutes to watch this, which does a pretty good job of explaining it in practical terms:

PROTECT IP / SOPA Breaks The Internet

I am not typically one who does a lot of protesting.  At least not like this.  I’d usually rather just tattle to God.  But we live in a country where our voices matter, and we live in a country that leads other countries.  So letting something with such far-reaching impact be passed without a fuss isn’t right.  This is not the sort of control we should simply hand over to anyone.  And if we do, we will be super sorry.

So, Sparky Nation, I will see you on Thursday, January 19th, which is two days before International Lisa Day.  It will give me an extra day for planning parades, coordinating fireworks displays, and tasting cakes.  Birthdays are a lot of work, you know.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 11:00 pm

    Great point, thanks for keeping a watch out because I have not even heard of the blackout. Out of the loop lately I guess. I hope you have a great ILD planning party.

  2. January 18, 2012 12:13 am

    Another thing we can do, besides stay offline in protest, is to contact our senators. Wikipedia is making it easy. If you go to their homepage, you can enter your zip code to get the contact information for your elected officials. And since I know myself well enough to know that I won’t make phone calls, I find it QUITE USEFUL that both my senators have online contact forms.

    Go here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

    Thanks for the well informed post Lisa! Enjoy your planning day :)

Leave a Reply

