Skip to content

A year of Sundays

January 22, 2012

In about five minutes (which means long before I actually post this because I type slowly and poorly, leading to a heck of a lot of backspacing and lost time), my birthday, aka International Lisa Day, will be over.  It’s the beginning of a new year, my jubilee year, and also the beginning of Project Jubilee.  This year, more than any other, I find myself in a place of uncertainty.  Not a bad kind.  It’s just a sense that a year from now things may be very different.  I don’t know what kind of different.  But I sense the potential for a very big sort of different.

I have had a lot of birthdays that came with uncertainty built in.

“This time next year I will no longer be at this school…”

“This time next year we’ll be living in another state…”

“This time next year we’ll have another baby…”

This time there’s nothing built in.  No impending moves, no planned personal changes.  It’s just that sometimes life can look static, but if you stop and pay attention, you can feel movement.  You can feel your balance shifting.  It’s small and subtle, but unmistakeable.

I wonder if I should buckle my seat belt, but then again, buckling in might prevent the only shot at flying I may ever get.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. bethkvogt permalink
    January 22, 2012 12:22 am

    But look at it this way: Astronauts buckle in before liftoff … so buckling in can be a ve-ery good thing: Preparation for an a-ma-zing, unprecedented trip.

Leave a Reply

