Skip to content

Nunya Beeswax

January 26, 2012

Haters will hate.  Haters will look for stuff that’s none of their beeswax, just so they can hate on it.  I really don’t understand it, to be honest.  Who needs all that negativity?

I was slapped awake concerning haters just this morning when I sat down and saw the top news story being reported by Yahoo, which happens to be set as my homepage.

Paula Deen Caught Eating A Cheeseburger

Seriously.  That was the first headline listed.  Yahoo had nabbed it from ABC’s Good Morning America, but for the life of me I don’t know why it’s news or why I’d want to attach the concept of a “good morning” to it.  There was a republican presidential candidate debate last night.  There were storms in Alabama just a couple of days ago and some people were killed.  I can see those things being worthy of a top news billing.  But no…America would rather hear what Paula Deen is having for lunch.

The big deal, of course, is that Paula Deen announced last week that she’s had type 2 diabetes for the past three years.  She’s announcing it now because she’s going to be a spokesperson for a pharmaceutical company that makes a medication for controlling blood sugar.  And one can’t overlook that Paula Deen is the queen of buttery, sugary, Southern cooking.  It’s her bread and butter, so to speak.

The news report, however, was nothing but a giant gloat that Paula obviously hasn’t changed her lifestyle at all.  She was “woofing down” a cheeseburger.  And there were fries on her plate.  Condemn, condemn, condemn.

I don’t watch Paula Deen’s show on the Food Network.  But I know enough about cooking and nutrition to know that diabetes is not a death sentence for eating tasty food.  A person with diabetes can plan for a cheeseburger.  But whether or not she did really isn’t any of my concern.  And I don’t know why it’s anyone else’s, either.  Paula Deen’s health is her business and her responsibility.  And I figure the same holds true of anyone who cooks any of her recipes.

Haters will hate…but I sure wish they’d figure out just how ugly hating is.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    January 27, 2012 8:01 am

    I had to deal with a lot of judgement after having the weight-loss surgery. Anytime that I was “caught” eating something that others didn’t think I should be having there would be judgement about it. There is nothing really that I can’t eat, but there are things that I shouldn’t have or shouldn’t have too much. I’m not going to justify each and everything that goes into my mouth. No one should have to do that. Even those who have been through the battle with food are quick to trash talk, old habits are hard to break, some of them we just don’t want to break. I really hope that Paula can get her health back, but like you said, it’s her business, not ours!

  2. January 27, 2012 9:18 am

    Hey Sparky, I just nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award, check out my page for details, I love your blog!

    • January 27, 2012 5:36 pm

      Hey, that’s awesome! Both the nominating AND the love, that is! Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. You Think I’m Lovely? The Flattery is Working! « Xanax or Running Shoes?

Leave a Reply

