Skip to content

And the award goes to…

January 28, 2012
tags:

I was nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award today!   Jeanna over at Xanax or Running Shoes said some nice things about Hey Sparky, and of course, I’m a sucker for some well-directed flattery.  And besides, it gives me something to blog about today that didn’t involve blood or cat puke or cilantro.

You know what really excites me about this?  Jeanna is not related to me.  We’re not friends (at least, not yet!) and we’ve never even met and yet– get this– she chooses to read my blog anyway.  Amazing, huh?

As far as I can tell this little award is a way that bloggers encourage one another.  I don’t get an all-expenses paid trip to a national blogging convention or anything.  I don’t even get need to go shopping in order to have some snazzy outfit for my acceptance speech (right now it seems a pair of yoga pants and a rather worn-out Ohio State t-shirt will do the trick).  All I have to do is follow three rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Name your nominated blogs (10-15 is the standard number). Then notify them that you have done so.
  3. Share seven things about yourself.

So, thanks Jeanna, and Sparky Nation, go check out her blog.  She’s a good storyteller, and a courageous one at that, because she tells stories even when she’s probably scared out of her wits to actually hit the “publish” button.

I subscribe to a lot of blogs but a lot of my favorite blogs are by people who are truly award-winning bloggers with more followers in one day than the sum total of comments I’ve ever had in the history of this blog (I’m not exaggerating). Many of the blogs I read are by friends who are posting personal things and aren’t yet looking for a broad audience., or use their blog as part of their business.  So while I don’t have 10-15 blogs to share, I do have a handful that I think are truly lovely…and the world needs to check them out!

Kinder Words  Kristin is creative, funny,and mama to twin toddler boys.  Heaven help her!

Seriously Because   She’s funny.  She’s fertile.  She can eat her weight in cupcakes.  I seriously love Lori.

Hope Alive   Oh my gosh…someone make her blog more often!  Kids these days…they just never listen to their mamas.

Can You Stay For Dinner?  Andie’s weightloss journey is inspirational, but even more so is her determination to live at peace with food…GOOD food.

Ok…now for seven things.  For pete’s sake, what haven’t I already blabbed?

1. I am an expert in choosing the exact right size container to hold the leftovers.  Just ask Mr. Sparky.  I always insist he affirm my talents in this area.

2.  I’ve done kilt another houseplant.  Actually, it’s not dead yet, but I can’t figure out why it looks so terrible and so as punishment for tormenting me with its wilty yellow blah-ness, I am refusing to water it.  That’ll learn it.

3.  I’ve given up on finding groovy socks that are thin and soft.  I mostly just get black and gray ones now.  But I still treasure my Frida Kahlo socks given to me by none other than the author of the Hope Alive blog mentioned above.

4.  I once soaped the fountain in Bellefontaine, Ohio.  It was a disappointing experience because it really didn’t bubble at all.

5.  I think the people God loves the best are the ones that most Christians think He’s mad at.

6.  I hate the discipline of a schedule but really don’t function well without it.

7.  The way my family sings Happy Birthday is the best. thing. EVER.

So…now that I’m famous, I promise I won’t forget the little people.  Mainly because I don’t know any.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 8:21 am

    Hey Sparky, I’m glad you were flattered, because you always bring me a smile. I’m glad when you have a new post! As for the Ohio state shirt…. I may have gone with something more Forida-ish ;) happy blogging! Congrats!

    • January 28, 2012 11:26 am

      You realize I only live an hour away from your old stomping grounds, right? :)

  2. bethkvogt permalink
    January 28, 2012 8:51 am

    I completely understand the not-water-plants approach to plants.
    And thanks for the info about the whole soaping the fountain idea. Saved me some trouble there.

    Congratulations on the award. Celebrate with a rousing round of “Happy Birthday” from your family or something . . .
    ;)

  3. January 28, 2012 1:50 pm

    Adding a couple of new treasure to my reading list. Thanks and congrats!

  4. January 28, 2012 9:23 pm

    Congrats on the blog award!! You deserve it… I love your blog,,,

  5. January 30, 2012 8:38 am

    I’m dancin’ a jig on your behalf! Whoo-hoo. way to go Lisa! (even if you did make me choke on my coffee this morning while reading about how you got chased by Grapenuts!)

  6. January 30, 2012 10:09 am

    Thank you, Lisa! I appreciate your nomination.

Leave a Reply

