Skip to content

We’re still at it

January 30, 2012

On July 24th, 2011, the Blog Challenge was born.   A bit over six months later, it rolls on.  I haven’t mentioned it here for a while, so I thought I’d do a shout out so those new to Hey Sparky would know what it is, who it’s for, and how to join.

The blog challenge is designed to help build consistency by building a daily blogging habit.  It’s not about content or even quality, though people who blog consistently usually experience an improvement in both content and quality over time.  They can’t really help it!

A qualifying post must consist of a minimum of one paragraph, which much consist of a minimum of three sentences.  Or you can post a photo, which will count for up to two of your sentences.

Three sentences.  That’s really not so much!  You could do that, couldn’t you?

There are two ways to join.  The best way is to hop on over to Facebook and join Sparky’s Blog Challenge.  There’s a small community of bloggers there who share posts and encourage one another.  Some blog for self-expression.  Some blog to keep track of their lives.  Some blog as a personal journal.  Some just have to let their inner weirdo have a voice.  There are many levels of writing and blogging experience there, and anyone of any level is welcome to join.  Each week  I post to find out who is in for the next week (as long as I remember, and occasionally I don’t!).  The challenge goes week by week, and you’re only in for any given week if you say you are.  The other way to join the Blog Challenge is to simply let me know you want to.

It’s been a fun six months.  I am glad for the relationships that have been built through blogging.

Whoda thinkit?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    January 30, 2012 10:52 pm

    And God bless every one!!

  2. January 30, 2012 10:55 pm

    Sounds like fun – I have made it 60 days – hopefully I can pull off a few more…

    • January 30, 2012 11:01 pm

      Feel free to join us if you like! I’ve found that the longer you do it, the easier it is to keep going and the less likely you are to fall off the wagon just by missing one day. The accountability sure helps, too!

  3. January 31, 2012 7:16 am

    The challenge has been great for improving writing skills as well as consistency! I’ve also made some pretty awesome friends through the challenge and the Sparky’s Blog Challenge fb page! I don’t always join the challenge each week, but I’m always around on the fb page and have totally enjoyed being a part of this group! You guys have challenged me with your posts in more ways than just writing! What an awesome group of people you are and I’m proud to know each one of you! :)

  4. January 31, 2012 7:26 am

    We love Sparky’s Blog Challenge. I think I’ve made some life long friends on here. Come on Sparky Nation! You know you want to join us! I had not blogged a single post before joining and love it! Thanks Sparky!!

Leave a Reply

