Skip to content

At first I was afraid, I was petrified

February 3, 2012
tags:

This morning I survived a trip to the commissary even though I showed up an hour later than usual, right in the Village People time frame, and it was also the day after payday.  I had to battle a lot of senior citizens who were buying their Groundhog Day party supplies, but somehow I made it through with only minimal hives and wheezing and cold sweats.  I think I should get a badge or a button or something.  Or at least a cookie.

Tonight I survived an evening work shift in spite of the fact that the post-Christmas shopping doldrums are in full swing and the panicked “I need to get my girl something for Valentine’s Day” frenzy hasn’t yet begun.  I had one customer the whole night, but it was ok because I had a task to keep me busy.  It’s very rare there aren’t any tasks.  One can usually find something to do.  Shipment to unpack, stacks of panties to tidy, fixtures to dust, co-workers to torment…something.

It is good to be a survivor.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    February 3, 2012 10:03 am

    I went to the grocery store yesterday afternoon and was flirted with by a much OLDER man. I was backing up in the aisle to get tomato soup and he said something about the baskets needing back up beepers. I said yes they do and he immediately bounced back that it would alert him to look at the pretty girls. Made me laugh. He caught me again on the chip aisle and flirted some more. He was flirting with just about every woman in the store. It was cute. Glad you survived the day!

    • February 3, 2012 10:07 am

      Flirty old men are funny…as long as they’re not pervy! ;)

    • February 3, 2012 5:20 pm

      haha, Joann, I’ve run into old men like that…lol. That’s funny :)

      Glad you survived the day too, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

