Skip to content

The view from here

February 4, 2012

Some days you really have to choose your perspective.  Today has been one of those days for me.  Lots of disappointments scattered throughout the day.  Planned lunch meeting spot unexpectedly closed.  A really poor manicure experience that I’m now stuck with for the next couple of weeks.  Slow mail service.  Some folks close to me making choices that left me feeling discounted and stuck in the “bad cop” role.

It all kinda sucked green slimy ditch water.  With tadpoles.

The reality is that at the end of the day, I have a roof over my head and food in my fridge.  The people I love are safe and healthy, as am I, and I am blessed to live in a time and place of relative prosperity.  All my needs were met today.  Some of my wants, too.  That’s really pretty awesome.

I’m not trying to tell myself that disappointments don’t matter, because they do.  But there’s a huge difference between being refused a visa out of a war-torn country and having to change your lunch spot.  The world is full of people who would trade disappointments with me in a heartbeat.   I can close my day being disappointed but not devastated.

It’s just a perspective thing.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

