Skip to content

Back in the 850

February 15, 2012

Hi, honey…I’m home!  Did you miss me?

I flew in from Dallas last night (and boy are my arms tired!) and landed in plenty of time to make a Valentine’s Day date with Mr. Sparky.  Unfortunately, my body didn’t care if I was on time or not.  Somewhere in that last leg of the flight my sinuses started blowing up, my head started pounding, and my stomach started break dancing. Mr. Sparky picked me up and we stopped at a CVS for some sinus medication, hoping it would perk me up and I’d still be good for the dinner reservations he’d had made, but as we drove along it became all too clear that putting something in my mouth was NOT a good idea, unless you wanted to see it again in short order.  Since spewing valentines really aren’t very romantic, Mr. Sparky ferried me home.  I made the trip with my eyes closed, doing deep breathing exercises.  It wasn’t until I’d been home and out of the van a bit that I realized that a good deal of my problem was that the sinus issues had jacked up my ears, and that had set off motion sickness.  When I finally stopped riding in moving things, I started to feel a bit better.  Not enough that I dared eat anything, but enough that I wasn’t constantly calculating how many steps I was from the nearest bathroom.  Always a positive sign.

It was a great week.  If you’ve not been following along (though I can’t imagine why you wouldn’t be), I was invited to be part of the speaking team for a women’s retreat in Texas last weekend.  It didn’t take long to figure out that God was up to something special.  First of all, He invited a bunch of women who’d not attended a previous retreat, most of them with deep needs in their hearts.  Secondly, He moved us from the cabins we expected to have to a completely different set-up…which on first glance seemed a bit “less than”, but turned out to be “more than we could ask or imagine”.  Then He made it cold so that we’d appreciate huddling together instead of spreading out and not spending time with one another.  He did one thing after another, turning what appeared to be obstacles into benefits.  That is one of His specialties.

The best thing of all is that He used two of the goofiest people you could imagine to speak His love and His heart to a group of women who had hungry hearts, and who heard Him and let Him talk to them privately and transform some of their hurting places.  That is another one of His specialties.  I am pretty sure some of them had no idea that He would talk to them, but He did.  I hope it makes them brave to ask Him to keep doing it, and to actually listen for Him.

I laughed a lot this weekend.  Some of those women are nutcakes!  I cried some too.  God patted me on the head and told me it was ok, and eventually, it was.  I also ate a lot of Cuties.  Why don’t we have Cuties here?  We have clementines and I know they are supposed to be the same thing, but the Cuties tasted better than clementines, darling though they may be.  And I also walked a lot, which would have been a nicer thing if I’ve not inadvertently brought mostly hateful shoes.  They were the kind that are ok for a few hours but are miserable for a whole day…and I had a lot of whole days to wear them.  Thankfully one pair wasn’t hateful, and they matched everything I needed to wear them with.  THIS, my friends, is why you should always have a pair of red shoes on hand.

On Monday I got to have lunch with an old friend.  She’s not old…our friendship is.  She pointed out that it’s been just shy of 20 years since we first met.  I just about fell out of my chair.  I was in my 20s when I met her?  How could this be?  But she was right.  She was a newlywed at the time, and she and her husband moved into the house next door at Ellsworth Air Force Base in Rapid City, South Dakota.  We became the sort of friends who never bothered to knock on one another’s doors but simply walked right in.  Those are the best kind.  In the past 20 years we’ve moved a lot and ended up far away from one another most of the time.  I had my fourth baby, and she had her first and only.  She started following hard after Jesus, and then her husband, who is one of the most intelligent people I’ve ever met, did the same.  Two years ago her husband breathed his last breath on this earth and went to be with the Jesus he’d come to love and live for.  He battled cancer until his body couldn’t do anymore.  Sitting with her it was so obvious that our lives had shifted and changed in huge ways in the time we’d known one another.  We’ve both known plenty of joy and pain.  But it’s good to know that through it all, we are still friends and can still make a lunch hour fly by at breakneck speed.

I am glad to be home, but a bit sad to gone from Texas.  I think I might have left some bits of my heart there.  Probably some other stuff too, but I won’t figure out what all until I finish unpacking and find out what’s missing.  I’ve got my blow-dryer and my flat iron and my PJs, so at least the important stuff made it back home with me.  I gots my priorities, you know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 11:51 pm

    Welcome home.
    You did a whole lot of living while you were gone.
    :)

  2. Amanda permalink
    February 16, 2012 12:14 am

    I missed you! Glad you had a great time and came back to us. I forgot to tell him, but your husband rocked on Sunday!

  3. February 16, 2012 7:45 am

    I am so glad you spent time with all of us! I’m also glad you’re feeling better…I was afraid it was that first ever tamale that got you!!

  4. February 23, 2012 8:41 pm

    I’m sad for your sweet friend. So unfair to lose a spouse so early. :(

Leave a Reply

