Skip to content

Hysteria and hamster wheels

February 26, 2012

As I begin to write this it’s a quarter ’til seven in the evening.  I turned the television on at 6:00 pm because I’d read that the Academy Awards started then, but it turns out that it was only the start of the red carpet extravaganza.  So I left it blaring in the other room and decided to kill a bit of time here while I wait for the real stuff to start.

I can hear the crowds screaming from here.  And I have to say…I just don’t get it.  I mean, it’s fun to see people dressed up.  Some of the clothing is wow, and some of it…well, some of it is costuming, not real clothing.  But it’s the crowd frenzy that is beyond me.

I strongly believe in a culture of honor.  I believe in recognizing excellence, and I believe that it honors God when we honor the good in others.  But inherent in a culture of honor is respect, which is completely different from idolatry.  Respect and idolatry can sometimes look similar on the surface, but it takes little digging to see that the similarities end there.  They are rooted entirely differently.

I think it must be a lot of pressure to be idolized.  I am quite sure I would not like it.   When young people dream of being “a star”, I suppose they are dreaming of being idolized.  I doubt it ever turns out like they think it will.  A frenzied crowd is a terrible tyrant master, and pleasing the whims of fashion and culture can only be exhausting.

So, I’ll say no to that hamster wheel, thank you very much.  Not that anyone offered me a ride on it, but I’ll say no thanks all the same.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 9:46 am

    Maybe we should crash the red carpet one day in some non-hamster wheel attire, eating jalapeno covered pizza and wearing blue jeans…mmm, jail or looney bin next? Regardless, you know the A-list would be jealous (if only about the pizza).

Leave a Reply

