Skip to content

It’s happening!

February 27, 2012

Five weeks ago I launched Project Jubilee with the goal of raising the cost of a rescue mission for the International Justice Mission, an organization that fights human trafficking, slavery, and other forms of violent oppression.   I am now pleased to report that we have raised 12% of the goal amount!  I say “we” because though this project may have my name on it, I am only one of many who are deciding to pool their resources to do something great.  It’s so wonderful to have the help and support of like-minded people.

If I focus on how far there is to go, I become disheartened.  If I focus on how far we’ve come, I forget to keep pushing forward.  And so I have to do a little of both.  I have to celebrate the journey thus far, and at the same time keep pressing forward toward the goal.

I also have to keep reminding myself that this is God’s deal.  He knows where all the money is; He knows whose hearts He’s pricked over this subject.  He knows who will give simply because they love me, and who will give simply because they love Him, and who will give simply because they hate oppression.  I am convinced that He’s fine with any of those reasons, because He feels the same way on all counts.

If you’ve thought about supporting Project Jubilee but are concerned that your contribution is too small to make a difference, I want to encourage you to set aside that mindset.  Because for the cost of a cup of coffee, you could be a part of this.  Or a Happy Meal.  Or a couple of hot Krispy Kremes.  The point is, little bits matter.  If Jesus can feed five thousand people with a couple of fish and a few loaves of bread, then He can turn your grande caramel macchiato into freedom for someone powerless to get freedom for themselves.  But only if you give it.  It can’t set anyone free while it’s still in your pocket!

In the moments when I feel discouraged and wonder how this is going to happen, I stop and think about how incredible it’s going to be a year from now when this fundraiser has drawn to a close and we can all look back and see what God has done, and rejoice because of what can now happen because we hopped on board with something close to His heart.  Because you better believe He LOVES setting captives free.

If you’d like to donate, you can do so here.  I never touch the money; FirstGiving keeps track of the contributions and will send them straight to the International Justice Mission.

We’re going to do this.  And I can hardly wait to say it’s a done deal!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 11:59 pm

    Please keep up the good work and don’t be discouraged! I am so thankful to people like you who aren’t afraid to take a chance, step out, and educate others about what they’re passionate about! You ARE making a difference– whether the full amount of your goal money comes in or not. I’m a big fan of what IJM does, I hope everyone around you realizes what a worthy cause this is. On behalf of myself and other trafficking survivors, thank you!

  2. February 28, 2012 3:33 am

    Reblogged this on Whatcha Thinkin'? and commented:
    This is exciting! The tote board is spinning!! Let’s keep it moving. Every little bit counts….in a huge way!!

Leave a Reply

