Skip to content

Why’d you have to be so mean?

March 2, 2012

Mr. Sparky has a class on Thursday nights and so each Thursday the Sparkette and I get a Hungry Howie’s pizza and watch a bit of TV together.  Girl time.  We usually go house shopping on the Home and Garden Network.  We watch House Hunters or Property Virgins or something like that, and discuss our opinions about which house the people on the show should buy.  But in the spring we watch American Idol.

Tonight we had it planned out on a very tight schedule.  I had to call in the order at just the right time to pick it up a few minutes before 7pm, which is when Sparkette’s softball practice ended.  So I pick up the pizza, pick up Sparkette while the pizza’s still hot, and buzz home to watch American Idol and eat the pizza.  It worked, amazingly enough.  Tasty pizza.  And fun to watch AI.

But what wasn’t fun was going in to pick up the pizza.  There was a young woman in there with a lot of kids with her.  Probably about six of them, and they were pretty young.  She had them spread out over three or four booths.  And she was screaming at them.  Hungry Howie’s tends to be a loud place.  The ovens, the fridges, the soda machines, the TV, the fans and AC…it all adds up to a really loud hum.  But this woman carried over it all with a very piercing tone.

Her words to those children were horrible.  Things like “I’m sick of you!” and “I’ve had enough of you!” and “Shut up!”  Said loudly.  Said publicly.  Said with a great deal of venom.

I don’t even know if they were her kids.  She was a very white woman, and the kids were all dark-skinned.  Maybe they were hers but they took strongly after their daddy.  Maybe she was a stepmother or a babysitter.  Whomever she was, the kids didn’t seem too phased by her outbursts.  They seemed to have heard it before and just took it in stride.  They weren’t misbehaving.  I never heard a peep out of any of them, in spite of her angry shouting.

If I had been one of those kids, I would have been sobbing.  I don’t do mean well.  As it was, I wanted to get out of there as fast as I could and was grateful that I only had to wait on my pizza for about two minutes.  I felt terrible that the kids couldn’t get away from there too.  I’m sure the Hungry Howie’s employees weren’t sorry when she left.  It’s hard to watch/listen to someone being so awful to children and pretend not to notice that they are on a power trip.

It reminded me of a line Harry Wormwood said to his daughter in the movie Matilda:

“Listen, you little wiseacre: I’m smart, you’re dumb; I’m big, you’re little; I’m right, you’re wrong, and there’s nothing you can do about it.”

Sometimes people really should go pick on someone their own size.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 6:57 am

    And if those kids were hers she will find herself a very lonely old woman in the future.

  2. Joann permalink
    March 2, 2012 7:55 am

    I see this much too often and I will admit, in the days before I allowed God to lead, I was often guilty of being a horridly mean mother. Now, when I see that behavior it makes me want to scream at them. It makes me want to ask if they know what they are doing to these children.

Leave a Reply

