Skip to content

When love stinks

March 16, 2012

Yesterday didn’t start out so well at work.  It didn’t take long at all for me to remember why acting like Jesus doesn’t make me like Jesus.  When Jesus is done acting like Jesus (as if He could be!), He doesn’t have a bad attitude about being Himself.

It went like this…

I was helping a customer and her daughter.  They were planning to exchange some things but wanted to look around before they made any decisions.  I took their exchanges, talked to them for a few minutes, and let them browse the racks, checking in with them a few times.  One of my co-workers was helping another woman and was off searching for some items she wanted.  The woman was acting a bit restless, so I greeted her and made sure she was finding what she wanted as she waited.  I was being friendly.  She took it as “this woman is now going to give me 100% attention for 100% of the time” and began to send me down the same path she’d just sent my co-worker, demanding my immediate service and unwilling to let me just be friendly.  I pointed out to her the place her desired items were located and tried to extricate myself, but the customer wasn’t having any of it.  My co-worker who was originally serving her returned to tell the woman that the items she wanted weren’t available.  The woman wasn’t too concerned with the news; she obviously had hope that I was going to give her a different answer.  I discreetly asked my co-worker if this was indeed her customer, and my co-worker cheerily said, “oh, not really, I was just looking for something for her…you can have her!”  And then she took off, oblivious to the telepathic death rays I was sending her, because by now I had lost my real customers to another co-worker who didn’t understand protocol in a case like this, even though my customers told her I had been helping them.

At this point I had no choice but to give up and serve the very needy and demanding woman.  I searched tables and drawers on her behalf.  I did computer searches on her behalf.  I searched the backroom and even a bunch of unpacked new merchandise on her behalf.  I simply did not have what she wanted, nor could I acquire it.  Well, I had four, but she wanted six.  As I returned to the floor to give her the news I came around the side of the table full of panties where she was standing, only to notice her quickly move about five feet away even though she was still talking to me.  It took me two seconds to understand why.

I had just walked into a very vile fart.

We’re talking breath-taking here, and not the same sort of breathtaking as a beautiful sunset or a masterpiece of art.  It was the icing on a poop-cake of a morning.

I smiled and pretended not to notice as I apologetically told her I was unable to locate her desired items.  She fretted and fussed, and then she declared that she would just wait and come back when she visited the area again in July.  And then she strutted out and left me standing there with my nose hairs wilted.

I know Jesus dealt with needy and demanding people.   But He was, and is, so much better than I am at loving them.  I can act loving.  I can make the choices a loving person would make and say what  loving person would say, but that doesn’t make me loving.  It just makes me a good actor.  And what true honor is there in that?

Truth be told, I still feel cranky about the whole thing.  And I’m also rather cranky with myself for being cranky about it.  I hold myself to a higher standard than that.  It’s not that I don’t have grace for my own shortcomings, but rather I see no reason to use grace as an excuse to tolerate things in myself that I know are not consistent with who I am in Him.

Though that fart really was totally uncalled for.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 12:33 am

    Sorry you’re cranky but that’s just funny. ;)

  2. Mollie Player permalink
    March 17, 2012 1:02 am

    Thanks for the light and love. Good stuff.

  3. March 17, 2012 9:25 am

    Boo on the fart!!

  4. Bobbie Stiles permalink
    March 17, 2012 12:24 pm

    She was obviously was just full of IT!

Leave a Reply

