Skip to content

Here we go again…

March 24, 2012

They say the definition of insanity is when you do the same thing over and over again and expect different results.  Well, it’s insanity season, and I’m not talking college basketball tournaments.

You know…me trying to grow stuff in containers on my deck.  That insanity.

It’s not that I can’t.  I know I can because I have before.  Today I potted some herbs and the ghost chili peppers my friend Lana sent me for my birthday, since it’s now finally consistently warm enough for them to be outside all the time.  I don’t know how the ghost  peppers will do because I’ve never grown them before and don’t really know what they like, but the herbs should be fine.  I’ll add a few more of those in the next few weeks.  I will also plant some jalapenos, and I know they’ll be fine too.  But will I stop there and leave well enough alone?

Probably not.

I’m thinking I’m ready to tackle tomatoes again.  I still shudder to think of the container gardening drama that occurred the last time I attempted this.  In the end I believe it was squirrels doing all the damage.  But I’m thinking that this time I’m just going to try one slicing tomato plant and one grape or cherry tomato plant.  And maybe just one more small variety because I bought a Topsy Turvy on sale last year and it would be fun to try it out.  But three plants shouldn’t set me back too much, and it will be easier to keep an eye on the frizzy-tailed rats.  If I can keep these alive and out of the mouths of the squirrels, then that will give me hope for doing more next year.

I am hoping for luscious, vine-ripened organic tomatoes.  What I may get is just more blogging material– the kind where you all listen to me rant and rave and foam at the mouth.  I guess either way, it’s all good.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 24, 2012 11:21 pm

    I’ve had good years of tomatoes here, and bad years. One year I had lots of blooms, but they never turned into tomatoes. :( One year I had a big green horny tomato worm. No squirrels in my neighborhood, so we will see how this year goes…….

    • March 24, 2012 11:26 pm

      I had some of those show up, too. NASTY! They leave giant piles of poop everywhere! Who knew worms could make such a nasty mess?

      • Amanda permalink
        March 26, 2012 10:14 pm

        I have little itty bitty baby tomatoes on my plants. If they ripen, I will share!

        • March 26, 2012 10:17 pm

          Yay! I hope yours make it to ripe. It was so discouraging to see dozens upon dozens of tomatoes disappear right when they were on the brink of being ripe. :(

Leave a Reply

