Skip to content

Making it harder than it has to be

March 28, 2012

I try to avoid posting too many links here because I figure most people are like me and don’t really want to click on a link.  They want to see it in front of them and just read it there.  But sometimes it’s worth the extra two seconds it takes to click on a link and bring up another page.  I think this is one of those times.

Reason To Believe

This link is particularly good if :

-you wonder why being a Jesus-follower used to be more exciting than it is now

-you feel like you’ve tried and tried but you never really get closer to God

-you struggle with feeling guilt or shame because you could/should be doing more for God

-some days this God stuff doesn’t even feel real

-you’re avoiding work and you’d rather click on the maintenance manual for your vacuum cleaner than actually get up and do something productive

I hope you find yourself encouraged by what you read.  Not just Happy Thought encouraged, but that something deep inside you feels heard and approved of and at peace with your messiness.

Heaven knows we’re a messy lot.  And is quite fond of us anyway.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 9:34 pm

    I love this post!!! After being involved in a jail ministry for over 10 years……I have seen that there are so many that have tried to “fix themselves” according to religious “rules”…or even went forward in a service, signed their name on the dotted line…..had an emotional experience….and yet had FAILED! [There is no failing with a God who is not only CALLED LOVE…..but proved it with His ACTIONS and not just with His Words…what REAL LOVE looks like, sounds like, smells like, tastes like and feels like!] However….in the end they (us and them) can now say that they have “tried”…..but were found “wanting”…. and it didn’t “work” for them. So……when religious rules were set before them (me), and they (I ) found they (I) didn’t dress like, sound like, smell like or look like those making the rules, don’t measure up

    But those making the rules have grossly mis-interpretted the Heart of the Father and the Heart of the ONE! The One who paid the price for every demand for justice and for the demand of Holiness since the enemy of our souls looked to be the “victor” because of our choice after we were lied to. BUT because HE (God the Father, God the Son & God the Spirit ) were NOT WILLING to live without the object of their LOVE…we find ourselves now under the GRACE of that LOVE!!!

    But not ONLY in the jail do you find this thinking of not measuring up. In my own life, I have had to be faced with my own lack of understanding of just how redemptive the price He paid really was! Yes! I fell under the ‘law’ for far too many years than I want to admit…with the scars that are the evidence. I too, not only believed the ‘lie’ that I had to deserve such love, but was part of facilitating that ‘lie’…in my agreement with the expectations of others and of the expectations I placed upon myself…to really receive such an undeserved price paid for me….that I (the accused), might go free! I know….a mouthful!

    And after a thousand plus times around the same mountain that the Israelites of the Old Testament circled until they finally “got it”…..I can finally say with deep conviction that the price that HE paid……WAS ENOUGH!!! All that’s left for me to do….is accept such LOVE on my behalf….even though grossly undeserved!

    Thanks again for this incredible reminder of what is truth, real and DONE!

  2. March 28, 2012 9:54 pm

    Thanks for posting that!!!

Leave a Reply

