Skip to content

Look at me! I’m sailing!

April 7, 2012

So I did it.  I bought them.   I know that thus far my history does not indicate a hopeful situation, but call me a cock-eyed optimist.  I am going to try it again.

On my deck are four tomato seedlings.  I have a Better Boy, a Heat Master, a Bonnie grape, and a Cherokee Purple.  I know, I know…I said I was only going to do three.  But I didn’t count on finding a Cherokee Purple, and I’ve always wanted to try a purple tomato.  Plus, it’s an heirloom variety, not a hybrid, and that makes me feel all granola and socially responsible and besides, all the cool kids are doing it.  I tried Bonnie Grape during the last container gardening fiasco and I can report with certainty that the frizzy-tailed rats love it.  The other two varieties are new to me.  Better Boy has a good reputation, and I bought Heat Master to try in my Topsy Turvy planter that I got on sale last fall.  If you’ve planted any of these varieties, feel free to give me a shout and let me know how it worked out for you and if you liked the fruit.  If you just want to leave a comment to harass me for doing this to myself again, you can do that too.

I also bought a four-pack of jalapeno plants.  Funny, I don’t have to worry a bit about the squirrels eating those.  If they all survive I’m going to have a heck of a lot of jalapenos, which means I’ll be making poppers in the name of frugality.  Isn’t it cool how that works?  I plant $1.69 worth of seedlings and then spend $12 to stuff them all full of cream cheese and wrap them in bacon.

As for the stuff that’s already potted on my deck, well, the herbs all look fine.  The ghost peppers bloom frequently but haven’t yet set any fruit, so I don’t know if I’ll get any of those this summer or not.  I’ll keep trying as long as the plant is alive, though.

I know the odds are stacked against me.  My backyard doesn’t really get enough sunlight and it’s infested with tomato-thieving squirrels.  But in my mind I keep seeing the plates of thick slices of garden tomatoes that were passed with each summer meal at my grandpa’s house– tomatoes I never even tasted because I hated tomatoes back in the day– and I just have to keep trying.

Besides, Mr. Sparky offered to buy me a pellet gun, and I have it on good authority that all the cool kids really do have one of those.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sheri coulter permalink
    April 8, 2012 12:31 am

    Mercy…a pellet gun….we have one you can use! Please! :)

  2. April 8, 2012 10:31 pm

    Boradors cure the squirrel problems but eat tomatoes from Topsy Turveys so they aren’t much help.

    The idea of you on the back porch defending your heirlooms with a b-b-gun is just too funny for words. Mr. Sparky must get us some pics!

    • April 8, 2012 10:36 pm

      Eh, I’d just keep the window cracked so I could get a good shot off without opening the back door and scaring the little pilfering marauders away.

Leave a Reply

