Skip to content

Freedom!

April 8, 2012

It may only be April, but summer must be here.  I’m barefoot any time I don’t absolutely have to wear shoes.  That means the bottoms of my feet are already starting to feel like sandpaper.  You’d think I’d remember to put some lotion on them, but I rarely have any with me at the point of the raspy discovery, and then I forget later.

I avoided shoes when I was a kid, too.  Since my parents grew up on farms where shoes were optional most of the time, they never made me wear them outside of things like school and church and going to town.  I think this only served to expand my life experience base.  I know how freshly turned garden soil feels between my toes.  I know how it feels to stand ankle-deep in a cool creek and feel the minnows pecking at my skin.  I know the roughness of hay, the annoyance of thorns and burrs, the softness of a bluegrass lawn, and the stickiness of a freshly tarred road.

If I have to wear shoes, I want them to be good shoes that feel comfortable on my feet, as well as have a high Awesome Factor.  I don’t like heels, I don’t like narrow styles that squeeze my feet or pinch my toes, and I don’t like anything that rubs.  Life is too short to wear cruel shoes.

Or too long, maybe.  I am not sure which.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2012 10:49 pm

    Foot loose and fancy free!!!!

  2. April 9, 2012 12:07 pm

    I use to love being barefoot too but then my feet started hurting all the time, especially first thing in the morning…Had to start wearing shoes all the time…my toes weren’t happy but my feet aren’t rough anymore. :)

  3. April 10, 2012 8:46 am

    I used to have a lot of painful feet issues with plantar fasciitis. Since I switched to New Balance tennis shoes several years ago, I have not had a bit of trouble.

Leave a Reply

