Skip to content

Shiny! Kinda…

April 18, 2012

This morning I struggled to consciousness enough to realize that two sounds were registering in my brain:  a downpour of rain, and scratching at the door by a terrified jerk-faced dog, who seemed to be quite convinced that a tsunami was about to wash him to some foreign land where Small Dog is a cultural delicacy.  I was too sleepy to point out to him that there isn’t enough meat on his bones to make him worth the effort to butcher, so I stumbled to the door and opened it so he could scramble into the room and burrow under the bed, which is a tsunami safe zone.  And then I crawled back into bed and went back to sleep.  That is what rain is best for, you know.  Sleeping.

When I finally forced myself to real wakefulness the rain was gone and the sun was peeking through clouds.  I got up, threw on some grunge clothes, and decided I’d better get busy if I wanted to get any cleaning done today.  But what I thought I was going to do and what I actually did ended up being two different things.  I had very standard cleaning chores in mind.  But when I stood in the middle of the room and looked around, my attention gravitated to a task I haven’t tackled in a good long while.

Windows.  Dusty, cob-webby, algae-covered, dirty windows.

I knew the real grime on the windows was on the outside of the house.  I also knew that I had one of those Windex Outdoor All-In-One tools in the garage, even though it had been a couple of years since I had employed it.  But I recalled that it had been pretty easy to use and that it really worked, and suddenly I found myself in the garage, digging up the window cleaner tool.  And in not very much time at all, my lower story windows were sparkling.

My upper story windows were jealous, but I couldn’t reach them with the tool and so they will just have to deal.

Later this afternoon I used my Norwex window cleaning cloths and cleaned the inside of the windows.  I love that I can make them shine with just water, and that they actually look far better than they ever did with any cleaning product.  Plus the ammonia in window cleaners leaves a film that is invisible in the beginning but gradually turns into a cloudy haze, but the water-cleaned windows will stay clear.  My work will last longer, which is a good thing because it could very well be another two years before I get a wild hare and decide to do this job again.

The windows in this house are original to the house, which means they are nineteen years old.  It also means that nearly all of them have broken seals, and that translates to cloudy, hazy patches that are inside the window itself and cannot be fixed by anything other than replacing the window.  Since that’s not in the budget, the best I can do is clean the outside.

If that’s not a prophetic message, I don’t know is.

I’m pretty amazed by how good the windows  look with just the outside cleaned, but how much better would it be if the integrity of the window itself weren’t compromised?  It’s a bit of a bummer to clean the windows but not be able to see through them with clarity because the problem isn’t surface dirt, the problem is the broken nature of the window.

I’ve met a lot of people like my windows.  Heck, I’ve been the person like my windows.  Cleaning up one’s image and behavior really doesn’t indicate what’s lurking on the inside.  This is how it comes to be that news crews interview the neighbors of people who commit shocking crimes and the neighbors say things like “he always seemed like such a nice guy.  Never made trouble, kept to himself…”

We fail to take into account the broken nature of the window.

Good thing Jesus works better than Windex.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    April 18, 2012 6:36 pm

    I am about to start reading Paul Tripp’s book, “Broken Down House”. Today I heard a quote from it and God laid this thought in my mind that I needed to look for the book and then I came home and put it on my kindle for 3 bucks. I have often said that I don’t want to have pretty dressed up windows, the curtains don’t mean a thing if they are covering up a broken, dirty, sealed shut with paint, window. They are just a covering. Well I don’t want to be covered by pretty curtains anymore either. I want what God puts into me to overflow so much that I reflect and shine because of it. My goodness, I am almost scared for what God has planned, it brings me to tears just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

