Skip to content

Some are born with the bark

May 1, 2012

Some people are born leaders.  I know a handful of them.  They are remarkable, to say the least.  It’s not that they are ambitious or bossy, though some leaders are.  It’s more that what they say and do seems to carry a heavier weight than the words and actions of others.  Though leadership skills can be learned and developed, there is still that certain something that is hardwired into some folks.  It can’t be taught.  Either you have it, or you don’t.

I always feel a little sad for people who desperately want to be leaders but were actually designed for a different role.  They are perpetually outside their true gifting, striving and sweating to make something happen, either unaware or unwilling to face that this isn’t their place to shine.  Something glorious waits for them, if they’d only take their eyes off the wrong prize.

And then there are the reluctant leaders.  The Striders who can’t bring themselves to step into their Aragorn roles, or who, when they finally do step in, have a long line of heel marks behind them.

I’ve had a lot of conversations about leadership with God.  He knows I hate submitting to poor leadership, but that I really love submitting to good leadership.  He’s also heard me fuss plenty about having to be a bushwhacker, swinging my machete through places nobody else seems to go.  If I turn around and see someone behind me, I figure they are there because they are seeking a cleared path, not because I’m the person ahead of them on that path.  It really doesn’t occur to me that they might actually be following me.  Mostly because they usually aren’t.  But occasionally…

I’m not the HBIC type, but if it’s my doghouse, I can bark with the best of the alphas if necessary.  I don’t really like it to be necessary, though.  The world has enough barking, and I don’t like being a talking head just because I know a few words and can string them together.

I have this blog for that biz.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 10:18 am

    Amen! I have struggled with this through the years to come to a balance in this very thing. People expect leadership from me because I’m a “Leo” … not that I put a lot of credence to those things, but there is some in the personality of a person. I’ve always said that I’m really NOT a Leo, but rather a displaced “Cancer” … cancer so much more fits my personality…but that’s only because I don’t live my live based on those things, I live my live based on the Word of God. God has not chosen to make me a leader…however, at times He has made me a leader….so even though I don’t feel like it’s one of my gifts, there are times He asks me to step up to it and then He enables me to do it!

    I did however, always fight with this because I was suppose to be a “born leader” and I just am not…and I did “strive” a lot over this thinking I just wasn’t doing what I was suppose to do. It wasn’t until I finally relaxed in who I was meant to be in Christ and who He has made me that I relaxed on the pressure I put on myself to be who God never intended me to be! What a relief!! Now if He calls me to lead in something I can go in easy, knowing that even though it’s NOT my gifting, He will enable me for the task that He has called me to!

    :)

Leave a Reply

