Skip to content

Thing 1 and Thing 2

May 19, 2012

I like it when life has Happy Things.  I have a little short list right now, and I’m going to show you Happy Thing #1 and Happy Thing #2 today, and save some other Happy Things for the next couple of days.

Happy Thing #1:

The Baton Rouge Sparkette is now a college graduate!

She had a little graduation party at her house.  Since we couldn’t get a Baton Rouge grocery store bakery to answer its phones when we called from FL, we finally gave up and I just made some cuppycakes.  I am very excited about my new decorator tip that lets me frost cuppycakes like the pros, not that I’m a pro at doing it yet.  But if I make enough cuppycakes, maybe I soon will be.

 

I am not really an icing person but that icing on those cuppycakes?  Yeah…I could eat the entire bowl of that stuff.  It’s like silken fluff.  Far less sweet than traditional buttercream.  My favorite icing recipe, hands down.

When Hope was little I used to joke that when I grew up, I wanted to be just like her.  Except I wasn’t really joking.  And I still want to be just like her when I grow up.  She is truly an amazing person.  Beautiful through and through. We are so proud of her, not only for graduating college, but for being an awesome human being who makes the world a better place just by living in it and being herself.

Happy Thing #2 concerns the youngest Sparkette.   We drove back from Baton Rouge very late last night, getting home at 1:30am.  We had Important Things to do this morning, namely, watching the youngest Sparkette play on a city league softball All-Star team.  She was awesome!  She played every inning of two games, covering five different positions.  She got on base at every at-bat, and she ran like a freight train.  I’m not sure I’d seen her move that fast before!    We were really proud of her for giving her best and doing so with a great attitude.

After the game I asked her for a photo of her in her All Star uniform.

I got this:

Me:  Goose.  Now give me a nice one!

 

Me:  “You are such a dork!  A NICE photo now, please!

 

Me:  Finally!  Thank you!

Sparkette:  Why do you have to be such a mother, doing your mother-y things?

Me:  It’s why they pay me the big bucks.

Sparkette:  How much?

Me:  I’ll let you know when I find out.

Funny kid.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mr. Sparky permalink
    May 20, 2012 1:18 pm

    Sparky writes here what’s on my heart, too. I love my girls and I am a very proud Papa!

Leave a Reply

