Skip to content

Crunch, crash, screech, thunk

June 3, 2012

I pulled the van into the driveway around 7:00pm this evening, tired from seven hours of driving but hopped up on six and a half hours of excellent teaching and speaking.  My teeth were full of popcorn kernels because “Smart Corn” is my travel food of choice.  A person can nibble on it for a long time and not get very full, which is a plus if you’re nibbling to stay awake and alert on the road.  Which I was.

I had been in TN for a few days for a school of ministry focused on healing.  Funny how my past denominational experiences all collided there.  The Global Awakening school of healing and impartation was held in a United Methodist Church that is currently experiencing renewal, which is like charismatic revival, and one of the teachers/speakers was a UMC pastor whose church has been in renewal for about 18 years.  Two of the others who taught and ministered at the conference were once Southern Baptist pastors who were given “the left foot of fellowship”, as they jokingly call it, because they had transforming encounters with the Holy Spirit that put them in conflict with traditional denomination teaching.  The other teacher grew up with a Pentecostal background.  They were an interesting bunch, with drastically different personalities, styles, giftings, and backgrounds, but that diversity, which operated in unity, was a good deal of what made them a good team.

The attendees themselves were a very diverse lot.  There were both Protestants and Catholics.  There were those from the United Methodist Church, the Southern Baptist Church, the Episcopal Church, the Church of Christ, various non-denominational churches of both charismatic and non-charismatic flavors, and probably a few more I’ve forgotten or never even realized.  They all came wanting to learn.  They all came wanting to receive impartation to actually do what they learned.  They were all willing to bust down the walls of the box they’d kept God in regarding the topic of healing and be stretched to consider new things.  I thought they were a pretty awesome lot.

This is not the first time I’ve done a school or conference like this.  I’ve actually been doing them for over a decade.  I just don’t talk about them much here.  I didn’t really expect to hear a lot that was new to me, and for the most part, I didn’t.  It was still a priceless few days, however.  It is nice to hang with a crowd that reminds me of who I really am.  Sometimes when I’ve been away from them for a long time, I get a bit of amnesia.  I went this time to be refreshed and reminded.  I went to receive whatever He had for me there.  As is often the case, I expected one thing but Jehovah Sneaky showed up and ambushed me with something entirely different.  He’s funny.  Sometimes funny ha-ha, and sometimes funny peculiar.  This time He was both.

You don’t have to hang around with me much to figure out I love it when God is wild and ornery and personal.  I want to be like Him in that way when I grow up.  Actually, I want to be like Him in a lot of ways.  Those are just three of my faves.

I do not understand His fondness for spiders, though.  I would have skipped them, personally.  Them and the cockaroaches.  Ick.

It is good to be home, though I already miss being in such a charged atmosphere.  I miss the encouragement.  I miss the challenge.  I miss the fellowship.  I miss feeling my brain cells tweaking and exploding as my mind experiences a spurt of rapid renewal.

I miss the trips to Pei Wei, too.  Why don’t we have one, I ask you?  Can anyone riddle me that one?

It is obvious to me that there were things about this week that permanently marked me.  Sometimes when the Holy Spirit shows up it messes me up, turns me upside down, and wrecks me.

Funny how I’m all the better for it.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 11:40 pm

    I love how He shows up and shows off for you.

  2. June 4, 2012 8:57 am

    I am sitting here in tears, tears of joy for you. LOVE IT!!

  3. Laurie Wade permalink
    June 4, 2012 10:07 am

    I am so happy for you right now and what He has done for your spirit this week!!

  4. June 6, 2012 11:49 pm

    I love how God sneaks up. My heart is also for healing to break out in a glorious way here in FL. I love experiencing His presence and being challenged to live out my faith as some do now and apostles did then. Great post and thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

