Skip to content

Ripples

June 9, 2012

It’s now been six days since I arrived home from the Global Awakening school.  I haven’t stopped thinking about the things I saw, heard, and experienced there.  I don’t know how anyone could.   I suppose by now some attendees some have shaken off the week and stepped back into life as usual, but I’ve found myself completely unable– and unwilling–to do that.  My body goes through the motions but my mind is somewhere else, rehearsing things I don’t want to lose to the fogging habits of distance and time.

I only purchased one conference CD while I was there.  It was a session led by Leif Hetland, and as he spoke I knew I needed to hear it all again.  And again.  And probably a few more times.  On the drive back from TN it was the first CD I popped into the CD player in the van.  I know it’s time to listen to it again.  Though I didn’t hear anything that was totally new to me, I heard a lot of things that were completely in season for me. Maybe they are for you, too.  Which is why I’m going to share a tasty tidbit from my notes here.

1.  What you do not understand, you do not know how to value.

2.  What you do not know how to value, you do not know how to steward.

3.  What you do not know how to steward, you do not know how to multiply.

4.  What you do not know how to multiply, you do not have authority over.

In the past I’ve been guilty of engaging and enabling a breakdown in that process at various levels.  Sometimes I simply didn’t know how to value.  Sometimes I valued and stewarded, but failed to move into multiplication.  Many times I did not stand in the level of authority that one stands in when they really value and steward something, and as a result I lost my ability to value and steward those things to the highest possible level.  And it all came from a basic lack of true understanding, which isn’t a lack of information, but lack of revelation.

Do you need to go chew on that for a while?  Because if you really give it some brain cells and some heart cells, you’ll find that it’s a very meaty bit.

There was a time in my life that many of the people around me counted on me operating outside these principles, because it made me safe and controllable.  It also made me pretty useless in the kingdom.  I was plenty busy in the church, but useless in the kingdom.

You might want to chew on that one for a while, too.  I know that idea tends to go down about as well as a rat sandwich.

The scriptures encourage believers to ask for wisdom and revelation.  So I ask.  I don’t want to ever lack for either.  Lacking has far-reaching implications.  It’s not just about me.  It creates spreading ripples in kingdom waters.

And those are not the sort of ripples I want to make.

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2012 11:03 pm

    Probably going to need a copy of that message. Sounds like some good stuff to chew on for a while.

Leave a Reply

