Skip to content

Ask Sparky: the golden nuggets

June 12, 2012

Dear Sparky:

What is the most valuable advice you have ever received in your spiritual journey?

I am not sure how to answer this, mostly because it has indeed been a journey, which means I’ve constantly had new “most valuables”.  But there are a few nuggets that apply anytime, all the time, and I find myself returning to them time and time again when I need to bolster myself with truth.

-Chew off the meat, spit out the bones.  Limiting oneself out of fear of “error” really only amounts to limiting oneself…and God.

-A transformed mind has to come before transformed behavior, or else it’s just a good acting job.  And it’s probably not really that good.

-God is good, the devil is bad.  Don’t ever get confused about this.

-Keep seeking a higher level of wisdom and revelation.  There is always more.

-Do not lower scripture to the level of your experience.  Instead, seek to raise your experience to the level of scripture.

-I cannot afford to have a thought in my head about me that is not in His.

The list shifts and changes through the seasons, but these bits of wisdom faithfully serve me at the core.  I have to honestly confess that I’ve walked through portions of my life where I’ve not really understood or believed a single one of those principles.  It doesn’t make for a joyful, victorious, and/or powerful walk, that much I can tell you.  Freedom is mo’ bettah, and adopting just these half dozen principles has really helped keep me immersed in a freedom mindset.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

