Skip to content

Five months and three weeks

June 22, 2012

You know how some of you looked forward to those Twilight movies, counting the days until the next one was released, surfing the web for clues about the story and characters?  Oh, it wasn’t just Twilight.  It was Harry Potter…and Batman…and The Hunger Games…and a number of any other movies, most of which I simply don’t care about outside the fact that you care about them, and I am interested in what interests you.  But that’s about you, not about the thing that interests you.

Well, I now have my own.  I am counting the days.  I am watching the trailer.  I am so excited I can hardly stand it.

I’ve never seen the play/musical.  Not for lack of want-to, but for lack of being where it’s playing.  But I’ve watched the soundtrack from the 10th anniversary “dream cast” concert, which  has been on my playlist for nearly 15 years, and it’s the one thing I loved to see during any PBS annual beg-a-thon.  I’ve seen the movie, which is the same story but without music.  And I cannot even begin to adequately express how much I love this story and this music.

This is a epic story of redemption.  It’s about the battle between law and grace, the head and the heart, oppression and freedom, condemnation and salvation.  And it’s set with some of the most incredible music ever written.  The casting in the upcoming movie is perfect.  When I saw the list of featured cast, I immediately knew who was playing which part.  Those people were born for those roles.  It isn’t about their singing ability, but what they embody and express through their very presence on the planet.  I can’t imagine playing any of those roles without forever being changed by them.

The movie is scheduled for release on December 14th.

And I doubt this is the last time you’ll hear about this.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    June 22, 2012 11:04 am

    I’m right there with you, I can hardly stand that it’s so far away! I am also in agreement that every person they cast in it is perfect for the role!!

  2. June 22, 2012 11:09 am

    I’m with you on this. The Hobbit AND Les Mis in the same month?!? When I saw this trailer in the theater with SWATH, I cried. I’m so happy :D

  3. bethkvogt permalink
    June 22, 2012 12:09 pm

    This trailer captivated me. Anne Hathaway’s voice is haunting. I’ve seen the Broadway musical and cannot wait for this movie. But I must.

  4. June 28, 2012 12:03 am

    Rachael and I cannot freaking wait for this movie. It looks and sounds unbelievable. Def our xmas movie tradition is all set.

Leave a Reply

