Skip to content

When the hills burn

June 26, 2012

It is 11:30pm and I am having a great deal of difficulty pulling myself away from the computer and going to bed.  I am glued to Facebook, where my friends in Colorado Springs are posting frequent reports of their welfare.  Some are still safe and the fire is still far away.  Some have evacuated.  The fire is very near the homes of others, and may have already consumed the house of one couple I know.

I feel so helpless.  I look at photos of houses burning, and I feel so helpless.  I want the people I care about to be safe.  I want their things to be safe.  But at this point, I can only ask God to extend mercy, and trust that He can and will redeem any loss that occurs.

And if I’m totally honest…there’s a little bit of excitement in that thought.  As sick as those fire photos make me feel, there’s an edge of excitement to know that if my friends lose their stuff, God will turn it around to make it work to their benefit.

But if I”m even more honest…I don’t want Him to have to do that.

The idea that we can control anything other than our own responses in life is ludicrous.  We do a great deal to build and pamper that illusion in our minds, though.  We subscribe to the formulatic God, telling ourselves that doing certain things will guarantee a certain response from Him and that our lives will roll along smoothly.  Which just isn’t necessarily so.

I’m not sure it’s ever so.

There is a scripture that says that God sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.

I wish He’d do that tonight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    June 27, 2012 12:09 am

    Lisa, you are so right! God will shine through all this and it’s gong to get alot worse before it gets better. I’m praying for God to show himself great and mighty :)

  2. Ruth J permalink
    June 27, 2012 12:22 am

    “There is a scripture that says that God sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.

    I wish He’d do that tonight.”

    You and me both.

  3. June 27, 2012 4:53 am

    Powerful.

Leave a Reply

