Skip to content

The iCuss

June 28, 2012

So…the Far Away Sparkette found herself getting frustrated with her Mac Book because it wouldn’t hold a charge.  Not with a new battery, not with a new charger.  Her husband surprised her with an iMac, and suddenly she had an extra computer just lying around.  It worked, but only when plugged in.  I figured a laptop that needed to be plugged in was better than no laptop at all, so I had her send it down to me.  I’ve never had a laptop, so I’m rather excited.

Mr. Sparky has worked at setting it up for me.  It’s not all the way there, but it’s getting there.  He’s had some success getting it to hold a charge for while, which is good, but I don’t yet know if it will hold it long enough to watch What About Bob? when stuck in an airport terminal.

These things are important to know.

I’m finding that I need MacBook for Dummies, because like all computers, it is just not intuitive to me.  After all these years I can finally stumble my way through using a PC, though it’s not pretty.  But the Macbook?  Heck, I couldn’t even figure out how to get an maximized window to fully expand.  And I’m lost with trying to remember how to use that little touchpad.  We won’t even discuss the cussboard keyboard.

I assume that in time I will develop the eye-hand coordination necessary to work the thing.  I assume I won’t always have to wrack my brain to do every small thing (slowly).  I assume I will eventually get it.

But then again, you know what they say about when you assume…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeremy Hofer permalink
    June 28, 2012 10:34 pm

    Check out http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

    and my fav: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2514

    I used these when I got my MacBook and they were pretty helpful.

    Also, keep in mind that I am a Apple Certified Mac Technician… and may be able to fix the charge issue…

    • June 28, 2012 10:48 pm

      Oh, trust me, Jeremy…I am VERY aware that you are Dr. Apple and if this is more than a bad battery or charger, the iCuss will be paying a visit to you! Thanks for the links…I will check them out. Hope just showed me a bunch of tricks. My head is spinning. Here’s hoping I retain even a fraction of what she just showed me!

  2. June 30, 2012 10:36 pm

    The space button sticks a bit too. Enjoy it!

  3. June 30, 2012 10:37 pm

    The space bar sticks a little as well. But a laptop is a laptop! Its not as nice as Dads, but its still my pride and joy of graduating high school!

Leave a Reply

