Skip to content

Road tripping with Betty

July 24, 2012

This is what I was hoping to avoid:

When the youngest Sparkette and I left Ohio for southern Illinois on that leg of our road trip, we did so with my dad’s GPS, aka Betty, in the van.  I’d never made the trip before and wasn’t sure of the route, and I didn’t have internet access in Ohio to pull up Google maps to print out instructions.  I didn’t want to use my iPhone as a GPS, mostly because I find that little screen a distraction on the road.  Reading it is really no different (or safer) than texting.  So when my dad offered his GPS, it seemed like a perfect solution but I was hesitant because, well, I didn’t want to be a mayhem magnet.  I’d never used a GPS before and didn’t want to wreck the van trying to figure it out on the fly.

It took most of the leg of that trip to come into a peaceful relationship with Betty, who became very anxious if I pulled off the road for gas or lunch or something frivolous like that.  I tried to placate her by thanking her for good directions and warning her when I was about to disregard her panicked pleas to make a legal u-turn at the nearest possible opportunity.  I eventually figured out the nuts and bolts of keeping her happy.  Not everything, but enough to know when to ignore her freak-out sessions.

I actually rather like Betty now.  But it’s nice to have the option to shove a sock in her mouth and make her hush.  She really can be a nag.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    July 24, 2012 8:34 am

    That is hilarious! We named our GPS Betty too, only we call her fathead when she “freaks” out or causes us to miss a turn while she waits too freaking long to tell us that we need to get over 5 lanes to make the exit. However, I would be lost without her instructions!

    • July 27, 2012 12:57 pm

      Your Betty and my Betty are probably named Betty for the same reason. Especially if your husband was involved with the naming. ;)

  2. July 24, 2012 10:04 am

    Ours is named Lola! Unfortunately she’s an older model and getting updates is no longer an option. There are new highways she doesn’t know about and it looks like we are in the middle of an empty field!

  3. August 1, 2012 7:49 pm

    Marty named our GPS Lisa Lisa-because it is telling him what to do! LOL

Leave a Reply

