Skip to content

Just because it’s never been done…

August 8, 2012

I’ve been thinking about something a lot lately.  I yammer at God about it, too.  Pesky kid with questions.  Pesky kid who whines about things she doesn’t know enough about.  Pesky kid trying to see the mountains through a kaleidoscope instead of binoculars.

Good thing He likes pesky kids.  Good thing He tends to encourage peskiness instead of sending the billion volt Bolt Of Correction.

The issue is that I can see something that doesn’t exist.  Well, it might exist somewhere, but not where I am.  But if I’m here and it exists where I can’t get to it, then that doesn’t do me much good, does it?  I see it, though.  I can imagine it, and it’s good.  Really good.

I keep waiting to see it here.  I keep waiting for someone who has the know-how and the positioning and the connections and the overload of caffeine to get it going, make it happen.  Surely someone else sees it.  Surely someone else is being a pesk about this.

But maybe not.

This morning I was on Facebook and a friend posted a link to a blog post that blew me away.  It was a great story with a great photograph, one that will be priceless to the blogger, but the more important part was as I read it I kept feeling the nudge and hearing the questions:  are you listening?  do you get it?

Go read it.  I’ll wait here until you’re done.  Don’t worry…the link will open in another window.

“Nothing is withheld from us that we have conceived to do.”

If I can see it, it’s because it was given to me to see.  And once I can see it, I then have to wrap my mind around the fact that I’ve already been given what is needed to accomplish it.  It is waiting to be called forth.  That doesn’t mean that it will come easy, but that it will come.

I confess my first thoughts are of the formidable list of all I don’t have and can’t do.  Which is ridiculous, because just because I’ve never had it and have never done it or been able to do it only speaks to the past.  It does not speak to the future.  It speaks to a time before I could see.  That was then.  This is now.

I have to think that He is up to something, and He let me see a little piece of it.  Heaven knows I’m qualified to participate, because He says He uses the foolish things of the world to confound the wise and get things going they way His heart desires. I am overqualified by way of my very lack of qualifications.

Yeah, let that tweak your brain.

I don’t know what this all means.  I’m just the pesky kid who can see things that don’t yet exist.  But if He’s going to let me see it and then keep blowing on my little spark, then why not hang on and see if we get ignition?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2012 9:38 am

    Loved this and loved Joel’s post. That quote is awesome!!

  2. August 8, 2012 9:47 am

    I cannot wait to see what He is doing thru you and your heart for Him!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Head: Because of You! – Renaissance Wife

Leave a Reply

