Skip to content

Slacking off

August 12, 2012

“There is no use trying”, said Alice; “one can’t believe impossible things.”

“I dare say you haven’t had much practice”, said the Queen. “When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”  

Lewis Carroll, Through The Looking Glass

Ever notice how life can suddenly take on an unexpected theme?  It’s as if there is a giant conspiracy, and even the most random bits o’ nuthin’ are in on it.  You start looking around, wondering if there are hidden cameras and secret microphones, because it gets too weird to be a coincidence.

That’s because it’s not a coincidence.  And it is a conspiracy.

My latest thing seems to be impossibilities.  The internet…music…the teaching CDs I listen to in my van…books and magazines I read…they all seem to suddenly want to address impossible things.  And the message concerning impossible things is totally consistent:

Go Do Them.

Funny that I’m suddenly surrounded by the idea that “impossible” is a relative term and shouldn’t be considered a limitation.  I mean, isn’t the idea supposed to be that impossible things can’t be done?   And yet, what I’m hearing is that impossible things should be done, and frequently.

And that I’m supposed to do them.

To be honest, I do indeed believe in doing impossible things.  And a lot of things other people think are impossible, I believe are very possible.  After all, nothing is impossible with God.

I’m not sure which impossible thing I’m to do first.  I hope it doesn’t involve having my entire house clean at one time.  Because unless Jesus Himself grabs the vacuum and a can of bathroom cleaner, I have trouble getting my head around that one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2012 11:15 pm

    I remember Beth Moore saying once that she may not have the power over everything she wanted to change but she most certainly had the power to finish washing all the dishes in her sink.

  2. August 13, 2012 5:27 pm

    Hmmmm………we seem to be on the SAME wavelength!

Leave a Reply

