Skip to content

Still waiting for Isaac

August 28, 2012

Tropical Storm Isaac has yet to flex his muscles and show us any hurricane power.  He’s still got plenty of time and warm water, though, so it may yet be coming.

A tropical storm warning has replaced the hurricane warning previously in effect because the storm is now aiming for Louisiana instead of here.  Jake the Jerk-Faced dog seems skeptical.  He is pretty sure the sky is falling and WE ARE ALL GOING TO DIE.

I shoved the container garden in my back yard into a huddle against the house.  Mr. Sparky removed the sail awning from the freestanding swing on our back deck while I dragged the trampoline into a corner of the yard where it might receive some protection from any gusts of wind.  We usually turn the trampoline over so the wind can’t pick it up and perch it on top of the neighbors’ house, but with Isaac’s constant drift westward, we decided to risk it becoming a giant frisbee. Watch this be the oneee timeee…

School has been cancelled tomorrow.  Mr. Sparky’s work has been cancelled tomorrow.  The shopping center where I help others engage in retail therapy closed at 6pm this evening and will be closed tomorrow.  I hope it at least rains some and makes all these closings worth it.

The LSU Sparkette, who is no longer a student but now works with students and lives near the campus, is in the direct path of Isaac.  I don’t much like that.  But I know that it is good to know you can do hard things, and the best way to know you can do hard things is to actually do them.  So I pray for her protection, as well as that of her roommates, and also that whatever happens will be a divinely appointed and guided learning experience for them.

Tomorrow I plan to sleep in and spend some time reading more of Les Miserables, which is kicking my butt because I’ve not read anything that worked my brain like this in a long time.  It’s good, and not so difficult I want to give up, but gosh…my French is pretty much limited to “a la mode”, my knowledge of European (let alone French) history is pathetic, and I really don’t know much about the hierarchy of the Catholic church.  I am determined to read this book before December 14th, however.  Or at least make a good showing of it.

It’s good to have a goal, don’t you know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. lanavaughan permalink
    August 29, 2012 9:41 am

    Keep reading!!!!

Leave a Reply

