Skip to content

Stepping higher

October 23, 2012

There have been many occasions in my life when someone has looked at me and said, usually in an exasperated tone, “Why are you so hard on yourself?”

My reply to that, at least in my head, is “Why are your standards so low?”

I’ve met plenty of perfectionists in my lifetime.  Enough to know that I’m not one.  Not really.  I believe in excellence.  I believe in walking through life with integrity.  I believe in aiming to cultivate a pure heart and a steadfast mind.

I’m also a messy human.  And because of that, I am grateful for grace and appeal to it often.

That said…right and wrong are not theories.  Ordering one’s life to avoid immoral, unethical, or downright sinful behavior isn’t the pipe dream of the prudes.  And choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil.

I don’t have those standards in order to be snooty or prideful.  Heaven knows I screw up enough that pride would be a ridiculous option for me.  I have those standards because I love the One who is perfect.  I have them because He calls me righteous and holy, and I want to honor that by letting Him renew my mind until my behavior (which is driven by my thoughts) is in alignment with what He has proclaimed me to be.

Not everyone cares for my standards.  Some think them too high and conservative; others think them too low and liberal.  I am learning to not let that bother me so much, however.  I am accountable first and foremost to the One who wrote the book, and I have to give grace to those who interpret the book in a way that isn’t how He taught me, even when they use their interpretations to accuse and condemn.

I have no desire to play footsies with darkness.  I don’t want to get away with anything that He’s not ok with.  I don’t want to be cavalier with the tremendous amount of mercy and grace I’ve been shown.  I don’t want to align myself with anything that is impure, shadowy, vile, defiling, or dismissive of good.

And if you think that means I won’t have a glass of wine or call bullshit, bullshit, then we’re really not on the same page at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2012 9:05 am

    A Good Hearty Amen to that, Sister!

Leave a Reply

