Skip to content

Golden dust

October 30, 2012

What is it about cool weather that makes us want different things to eat?  Today it is breezy and chilly and I found myself craving some spice bars.  They’re rather like gingerbread, soft and chewy and full of warm spices and molasses.

So I made some.

I was dumping ingredients into my mixing bowl when I got to the list of spices.  Cinnamon, cloves, ginger.  Warm red brown…dark brown…pale golden yellow.  The song Beautiful Things by Gungor came to mind:

You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of the dust.
You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of us.

It occurred to me that those spices are really just dust, yet they add rich flavor and color to anything they touch, even in small amounts.  And boy, does it ever smell good.

When life is grinding on me, wearing me down into dust and rubble, it usually doesn’t occur to me that the process is actually making me more useful, more rich.  I just think I’m tired and surrounded by jerks and needing a dose of something that involves peanut butter and chocolate.

And sometimes those things are true.  Or at least mostly true.

Nobody likes a trip through the grinder.  It’s irritating.  It hurts.  It’s exhausting.  But sometimes it’s necessary.  It’s what is required to make us fit for that thing for which we were designed…that thing we might not even know about yet, but is surely on the way down the pike to us.

The spice bars turned out great, by the way.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2012 2:01 pm

    Big pot of Cowboy Chili simmering on the stove sending warm spicy smells through my house today.

  2. laura permalink
    October 30, 2012 2:05 pm

    Beautifully said.

Leave a Reply

