Skip to content

Another trip around the sun

January 1, 2013

The ball has dropped in New York City.  As I write this, the 2013 is beginning to creep across the landscape of the United States.  It will be about 35 minutes before it overtakes us here in the FL panhandle.

I don’t find myself particularly nostalgic about 2012, even though it wasn’t a bad year by any means.  I’m more interested in what is coming.  I’m more interested in what is already here.  Life moves too fast to spend too much time looking backward.

I began this year doing the blogging challenge, which grew from two people to an entire Facebook group.  About half way through the year I found I ran out of words.

I need to buy a vowel.  And some consonants.  Toss in a side of punctuation, won’t ya?

I can’t really track my year through this blog.  Too much went unwritten.  But then again, that reflects my life.  So much went unsaid.  It swirled around in my head in vague concepts that didn’t require the application of the rules of English grammar.  It’s a strange habit, I suppose.  I don’t know if it’s good or bad.  Maybe it just is.

Ew.  My cat just sneezed on me.  I am trying to write these reflections of 2012 and now I’m covered in cat snot.

Welcome to my life.

In 2013 I want to love better.  I want to be healthier in body, soul, and spirit.  I want to give more generously.  I want to carry the presence of God more strongly, and spread it more lavishly.  I want to learn to diffuse the stressors I can, better handle the ones I must face, and recover from the abuse my being has taken for all the ones I’ve handled poorly up to this point in my life. I want to expand my creativity.  I want to be less irritated by irritating people, because irritating people need extra Jesus and I do a lousy job giving extra Jesus when I’m irritated.  I want to remember why I write, and I want to find passion to return to writing frequently.  I want to clean out some closets around here.  I want to figure out how to get Queen FancyPants to let me Furminate her belly fur.  I want to finish Project Jubilee, and finish it well.  I want to eat more avocados.

I want to do these things but until this moment 365 days from now, I won’t know if I really did.  History will prove if my want-to became a did-do.

Happy New Year, Sparky Nation.  Make it a good one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 6:08 pm

    From one Floridian to another…beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

