Skip to content

Because “new” can really mean NEW

January 1, 2013

It’s January 1st, 2013.  346 days ago I launched Project Jubilee because I wanted my jubilee year to be a jubilee year for someone else, someone who needed justice and mercy but couldn’t achieve those things on their own (click on the link to read the story; it will open in another window for you so you won’t lose your place here).

It was a daunting task for me.  I know that for some folks $4500 isn’t really a significant amount of money, but for our family it is, and I had no idea where I’d get the money to accomplish this.  Then I remembered a modest source of personal income that I could contribute towards this.  It wouldn’t even come close to being all that was needed, but unlike me, God is really good at math and can make impossible multiplication problems not only possible, but easy.  Especially when solving the problem is something that is close to His heart.

And I don’t know anything closer to His heart than setting captives free.

On this New Year’s Day of 2013, I want to testify that He is AMAZING.  He has given seed to faithful sowers, and He’s given them tender hearts towards those who cannot acquire freedom for themselves.

Project Jubilee is FULLY FUNDED!

It will be a great personal joy to me to know that my jubilee year is going to be life-changing for someone else— possibly many someone elses because a rescue mission often frees groups of people.  A cycle of slavery and hopelessness is going to be over.   A new life will begin…and it will really be new.  Fear and oppression will be stomped; hope and joy will arise in their places.

My commitment to Project Jubilee continues through the 21st of this month.  The income I’ve committed to it will still go to it, even though the original goal is met.  The amount raised beyond the goal will still be used to help with aftercare packages, attorney fees to prosecute oppressors, costs to change government systems that permit slavery to even exist, counseling, education/trade training, and a myriad of other details that are part and parcel in the field of enforcing justice. Or maybe we fund raise another rescue mission. Who knows?

If you’d like to join me as part of God’s “more than we can ask or imagine” provision, you can do that here:  First Giving/ Project Jubilee.

If you have contributed to Project Jubilee, thank you.  Some of you gave because human trafficking/slavery is a cause near to your hearts.  Some of you gave simply because you love me.  Some of you gave, and you’ve never even met me.  Some of you had no money to give, but you gave encouragement, or shared my First Giving page, or lifted this cause to the ears of our Dad in heaven, who champions the cause of the oppressed.  No matter what you did, I am grateful. Thank you for keeping your eyes on the prize.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2013 9:26 pm

    Praise God!!!

  2. January 1, 2013 10:02 pm

    This is awesome Lisa….thank you for doing this. Wish I could give dollars, but I can give prayers!

    • January 1, 2013 10:05 pm

      I am VERY grateful for prayers, because the One we pray to can do ANYTHING!

  3. January 2, 2013 12:10 am

    So awesome! Thanks for sharing the song, too :)

  4. Bobbie Stiles permalink
    January 2, 2013 11:36 am

    Loved this. Thank you for the encouragement.

  5. January 7, 2013 9:16 am

    I’m so thankful to have been part of this!

    • January 7, 2013 10:49 am

      Lori, I’m glad you were, too. It feels good to have unity and community in this.

Leave a Reply

