Skip to content

Tasty bits

January 14, 2013

I’ve been known to joke that my van is my prayer closet on wheels.  Except I’m not really joking.  I spend a fair amount of time in the van, talking and listening to God, listening to podcasts, pondering the meaning of life, the universe and everything.  I go through seasons where I listen to a lot of music, but honestly, I’m more likely to plug in a podcast.  They’re like electrolytes for the spirit, snacks for the soul.

Ever’body soul need a good snack, ya know.

I recently listened to a sermon by Bill Johnson out of Bethel Church in Redding, California.  I frequently listen to him and other Bethel staff.  They challenge me in all the best ways. This particular podcast was on the favor of God.

I’ve been a believer for 37 years.  I don’t think I’ve ever been to a church where I heard a sermon on the favor of God.  That’s kinda too bad. Actually, it’s a lot too bad.

The entire sermon was great, but there were a couple of quotes that really made me stop and think.  It’s not that they were a huge revelation.  It’s just that I’d never really thought about them in the context that was being addressed in this sermon.

“Great favor attracts great opposition.”

“Favor dials up the insecurities of those around you”.

Hmm.

I’ve seen the second one in action more times than I care to recount.  It’s ugly.  It almost always makes a costly mess, too.

But the first quote?  It occurs to me that sometimes great favor extended to me actually dials up my insecurities.

Not a pretty thought.

Favor should be something that produces joy, and usually is.  But sometimes insecurity is waiting there to remind me that favor can be taken away, and probably will be any second now.  In fact, it probably already has and I just haven’t had the good sense to notice it yet.

Yikes.  Seriously…yikes.  Someone’s brain needs a serious re-tuning when it gives any attention to that nonsense.

The bottom line is that both quotes are true.  When I’m operating in favor, divine or human, I can’t really explain why, just as I can’t explain the opposition to that favor when it occurs.  To my limited mind, neither make sense, though one is definitely more desirable than the other.  They both just are.  Say thanks for the favor and no thanks to the opposition, and keep moving forward.

There’s favor for forward motion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

