Skip to content

True confessions

February 26, 2013

Confession:  I never left the house today.

It was a rainy day and so I holed up inside.  I did some laundry.  I twinked around on the computer.  I finished a book.  I napped. I petted some cats. I did some personal housecleaning.  I did a little decorating.  I ate yet another grilled cheese sandwich for lunch.

There’s just something about grilled cheese on a cool, rainy day.

I wouldn’t exactly call it a day of rest.  I did some hard work today.  But it wasn’t a day of rush.  It wasn’t a day of the glorification of busy.  It wasn’t a day of striving.

These kinds of days are good for the soul.

We’ve had a lot of rain over the past few days.  I have to wonder if the earth is taking a nice long shower, cleaning up before the arrival of spring.  Within a few days I expect to hear the spring peepers begin squeaking their little hearts out in the swollen creek behind the house.

I don’t get many days where I don’t have to go out for any reason.  Nor do I get many where I can move at a restful pace.

But they’re glorious when they happen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kayla Jo permalink
    February 26, 2013 9:04 am

    You speak so fondly of rainy days but they are kind of depressing for me. I have never really been fond of the rain. I am fond of restful and easy-paced days, but the rain is not a welcome friend in my world. Maybe I just don’t like that if I WANTED to go out I couldn’t. Maybe it is a controll thing…I’m not sure. But I just don’t like it. I wish I had your sentiment about rain.

    • February 26, 2013 9:15 am

      Kayla, this may sound strange, but on sunny days I feel the pressure to be sunny myself, and if I’m not I feel out off kilter with the universe. But on rainy days I feel like I can be whatever I am and it’s ok. It’s as if rain soothes something in my soul that gives it permission to just be. Now, if my hair would only get the memo and not turn into a limp damp mop on rainy days… ;)

Leave a Reply

