Skip to content

More than asked, more than imagined

March 1, 2013

It’s funny.  When you set a goal and purpose yourself towards it, you really don’t know what is going to happen along the way.  Maybe you’ll reach the goal.  Maybe you won’t.  Maybe you’ll get halfway there and realize that it’s the wrong goal and you need to readjust your direction.

And maybe, just maybe, it will become a “more than you can ask or imagine” sort of experience.

Tonight I made my last contribution to Project Jubilee.  Back when I launched it in January 2012 with this post, I purposed that a certain amount of my personal earnings would be contributed up until my birthday in January 2013.  Though my birthday was January 21st, I’m just now receiving the paycheck that included those earnings.  Tonight they became the final contribution to Project Jubilee.

The original amount I set was based on the 2011 estimation of the cost of a rescue mission for someone (or maybe many someones) trapped in slavery.  But by the time the end of 2012 rolled around, that figure was out of date.  The original $4500 became $4750 for a standard slavery rescue, and $5070 for a sex trafficking rescue.  I was torn; so many people had helped me reach the original goal, and I didn’t want to seem ungrateful because in truth I was thrilled.  But I also knew that though we’d technically met the goal, it would no longer do what I set out to accomplish.  And so with just a day or two left before my birthday, I did a shout-out on Facebook, wondering what would happen.  I knew I didn’t have anything more I could contribute before my actual birthday.  But in a matter of hours, the new goal was not only met…but surpassed.

And I was, and still am, awestruck, amazed, and humbled.

This was nothing I could do on my own.  I knew that going in.  I didn’t have $4500.  If God wanted this done, and I believed He did, then He was going to have to do something I couldn’t do.  And that is exactly what He did.

A year later I am still asking Him a lot of questions about how big of a check I can write in His name.  I’m not just talking about money.  When Jesus left the earth, He left humans in charge and promised to equip us to do everything that needed done in order to bring His kingdom to our everyday places and everyday lives.  He left us with an amazing amount of authority so that we’d do wildly wonderful things that defy the systems of this world.

I want to grab hold of the amazing so that I can do the wildly wonderful.

He constantly finds ways to make my knees knock.  Before I know it, I’m in a situation where the only thing of value I have to offer isn’t mine to fulfill, and I have to force myself to get out His checkbook and start writing.  All the while I’m mumbling (sometimes hollering) “ok, I’m doing this because You said I could and it’s in Your character to do it and I’m taking You seriously about this heaven-invading-earth business, and if You don’t show up and make good, we’re all sunk!  You’re my only hope in this actually happening!”

And pretty much every time I end up awestruck, amazed, and humbled.

He’s completely and totally amazing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

