Skip to content

$4.58

March 8, 2013

Yesterday found me wandering the aisles of the commissary, looking for satisfying snacks to add to my grocery cart.  I’ve been trying to lay off the sugar again since it’s obvious that I’m much healthier without it.  Of course, there are no shortage of healthy snacks from which to choose, but that doesn’t mean that I find them all personally satisfying or appealing.  If I’m gonna lay aside the sweets, the non-sweets better be pretty spectacular.

Ok, I’ll settle for not cardboard, sticks, or small rocks.

I made my way to the nut section (no wisecracks from the Sparky Nation, now!) and began scanning the shelves.  Can I just confess that I don’t really get commercial trail mix?  Why do people buy all these pre-made bags of stuff they could throw into a bag all by themselves?  It’s not like there’s a recipe, short of “handful of nuts, handful of raisins, handful of m&ms”.  If you feel like getting crazy, you add a handful of dried cranberries.  Variations on gorp is still gorp, folks.  I struggle to be impressed.

But I digress.

Anyway, scanning the shelves.  As I mentally rejected the 32 varieties of trail mix available, my eyes landed on a can of cashews.  I love cashews.  Cashews give me the kind of happiness usually reserved for a bird with a french fry, although truth be told, I’m equally as happy with an actual french fry, and probably more so if copious amounts of ketchup are involved.  But at the commissary it was the can of cashews that had my attention.

And that is when I noticed it:  The can of whole cashews was $3.00, a really great price.  A can of cashew halves and pieces was $4.58.  Same sized can.

At the time something about that set off a flare in my head, but my brain wasn’t absorbing it. But my mind kept returning to it.  The whole ones were $3.00, and the broken pieces were $4.58.

The whole ones were $3.00, and the broken ones were $4.58.

The whole ones were $3.00, and the broken ones were $4.58.

The broken ones were more expensive…the broken ones cost more…the broken ones were more valuable…

Oh.

People who think God doesn’t talk to them most likely need to re-tune their receiver.  As far as I can tell, He hardly takes a breath, He talks so much.  It’s just that I only receive a fraction of what He says because I’m too busy thinking about gorp and wondering why my elbow itches.

In a season where every turn has left me face to face with my own brokenness, I’ve at times become discouraged by the sheer magnitude of fixing I require.  The cracks, the scrapes, the chipped edges and flaking paint and missing handles…such a humble state compared to the loftier (in my opinion) condition of being flawless and shiny and shellacked and burnished to a gleam.

But He says that the broken ones are more valuable, and He put His Son on the line to prove it.

The sick don’t need a doctor.  The whole don’t need glue.  The found don’t need a rescue.  The broken ones cost more because they are more valuable.

I bought the can of whole cashews, though.  Fiscal responsibility and whatnot.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2013 9:00 am

    Hey Lisa, it’s Blake! This summer we (the triplets) are going to Guatemala and we have a blog started for our trip, if you could follow and pray for our trip that would be awesome.
    threepartssurrendered.wordpress.com. There is nothing up yet except a couple prayer requests and our about us page, but there will be very soon!

  2. March 9, 2013 11:38 am

    the blog is going to be on private until we get everything squared away but if you would like I will email you when it’s ready.

    • March 9, 2013 12:18 pm

      Yes, please! I’d love to track your progress and hear about your experiences!

Leave a Reply

