Skip to content

Define “ordinary”

June 9, 2013

I stood with my eyes closed as the waves of music surrounded me and lifted me, my own voice lost in the mix.

Fill me up, God, 
Fill me up, God,
Fill me up, God,
Fill me up…

It is a sweet thing, the business of being lost in the worship of one’s Creator as a community.  Thus it was that night.  I can’t say it was an ordinary Wednesday night gathering, because really, is any night ever truly ordinary?  Each one is the only one that will ever exist, and each moment that passes is gone forever.  What is ordinary about that?

Fill me up, God,
Fill me up, God…

What a beautiful prayer that is.  Fill me.  Singing those words was easy, because I want to live filled.  It was then I heard it.

I have something to show you.

My heart skipped a beat.  I stopped singing and let the music swirl around me as I waited expectantly.

And then I saw it.  I saw a small island of ice floating in the water.  As I looked I could see it was an iceberg, and the amount of ice above the water was very small compared to the sheer enormity of the ice that was underwater.  Just as the ice that floats in my water glass is mostly beneath the surface of the liquid, so it was with the iceberg I saw.  It was beautiful and amazing.

As I looked around the iceberg surface, I saw a penguin.  A small laugh burst from me, lost in the music of the room, because I love penguins and think they’re hilarious.  He put a penguin there for me!

My laughter quickly turned to a gasp of horror as the realization of what I was seeing dawned on me.  “No, Lord…I don’t want to be a flightless bird!”

I watched the penguin waddle to the edge of the iceberg, its gait slow and ungainly.  With a leap, it dove off the iceberg and into the water.

Suddenly it was as if I was in the water too, watching the penguin zoom and twirl, maneuvering through crevices and turning on a dime.  A trail of tiny bubbles followed it as it rocketed through the water in a ballet of breathtaking grace and beauty.  It dove deep, deep, deeper still and then shot to the surface, deftly avoiding every obstacle.

Can you really say it doesn’t fly simply because it’s not in the air?  This bird wasn’t designed for the air.  It does in the water what other birds can only dream of doing in the air.

I watched the penguin dive again, caught up in the elegance and power of its movement.

You were not made to fly as other birds fly.  That doesn’t make you flightless.  That makes you unlike the other birds.  You cannot fathom the excellence of your own design until you enter the uncommon environment for which you were made.

The music slowed and the iceberg and the penguin faded away from my eyes…but not from my mind.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2013 8:57 am

    Lisa – I really enjoyed hearing what God was speaking to you, how very much He cares and is intimately aware of your heart so that your heart registers and engages with His in a beautiful albeit unorthodox flight…

    I wanted to add a little because I’m not sure you would have seen it, but it just seemed so fitting to me that He would add this little note…

    I subscribe to your blog so I get it in email form. At the end of the email formatting and all the WordPress caveats for if you’re having trouble receiving, viewing, etc., another little note appeared:

    “Thanks for flying with WordPress.com”

    I knew who had actually invited me on this little flying jag; it was like a little wink from God.

    Blessings, sister!

    Kellie

    • June 11, 2013 1:11 am

      No, I wouldn’t have known…but that’s hilariously funny and very appropriate! “Flying with WordPress”! Haha! I love it!

    • June 11, 2013 1:12 am

      Oh…and thank you. :)

  2. Lori permalink
    June 16, 2013 8:44 am

    I love this and I adore you!

Leave a Reply

