Skip to content

Issues with issues

July 18, 2013

It happened again.  I didn’t mean for it to happen.  I told myself I’d get to it.  What I thought would be a delay of a few days stretched until it became a delay of five months. It’s appalling.

Yes, I’m a full five months behind on my National Geographic magazines.

National Geo is my favorite magazine, and if you’ve been reading here long, you probably already know that.  Even though I don’t buy into the idea that my uncle was a monkey, I still value the stories and ideas I find there.  I know a little about a lot of things (just enough to be dangerous), and National Geo fuels that.  Every month when one arrives, I drop whatever I’m reading and dive into my new issue.

Well, except for last March’s.  And April’s.  And May’s, and June’s, and July’s.

But I’m catching up now!  In the past week I’ve learned about fracking in North Dakota (I had no idea!), some of the changes in remote China because of the Three Rivers Dam, Bonobos, gardens designed to be experienced at night, and all sorts of other interesting tidbits.  I’m tuning out the call of the stack of delicious books calling me to shack up with them until I’ve devoured every word they have to offer.  They can wait.

I think.

The truth is, there are so many books and so little time.  Not that long ago I was in a literary desert, unable to find anything I wanted to read.  Now?  I can’t seem to get to the bottom of my stack.  We won’t even discuss the books I’d really like to re-read.  And yes, I have plenty of those.

The world is full of cool stuff.  There’s so much to see, so much to know.  I read these books and magazines and promptly forget a good 80% of what I just read.  But that doesn’t stop me.

I’d rather have 20% of what I read than 80% of what is available to watch on the TV most of the time.  I rarely watch it.  Some of that stuff makes my IQ drop a few points every time I can tune in.

Heaven knows I can’t afford that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

