Skip to content

5 Minute Friday

July 19, 2013

This is the challenge from my friend Kayla over at Tales Of The Untamed:

Five Minute Fridays – Write for 5 straight minutes whatever is on your mind with no surplus of time spent editing or proof reading. 5 Minutes is the minimum, max is up to you and your creative juices. 

Ready, Set, Go!

Ok, I’m in.  Five minutes.  Surely I can ramble for five minutes.

The truth is, I can ramble for a long time.  But there is a difference between public rambling and private rambling, and I try to keep that in mind as I begin spilling out the contents of my brain.  ‘Cause seriously…there are some very strange neighborhoods up in there.

Some of the neighborhoods in my brain have nice lawns.  They are manicured and landscaped and tidy.  I wish they were self-weeding, but alas, they are a heck of a lot of work.  Which is probably why some of the other neighborhoods in my brain look like chaos.  Most of them aren’t, really.  I’m a hoarder of brain stuff, and it may look and sound messy but give me some time and I will eventually either find whatever I deposited there, or I know where to go get another one.

By the way, the answer is Google.  You can always re-find stuff by Googling.

You think I’m kidding, but I’m not.

Can’t remember the exact address of that scripture?  Google it.

Don’t know why your Brandywine tomato plant isn’t setting fruit?  Google it.

Wondering if there are any natural treatments for any annoying ailments?  Google it.

Want a reminder of what sort of artwork makes a good watercolor tattoo?  Google it.

Can’t remember what was on the cover of National Geographic magazine four months ago?  Google it.

Google is the motherlode for mental hoarders who are struggling to remember details of stuff they know that they know…somewhere.

I would actually find it unnerving if my brain were too organized.  It would be like walking into an artist’s studio and finding everything neatly stored and stacked and categorized, with nothing tipped over or piled up, no scraps of this and that still needing a home.  I’d be looking for evidence of creative brilliance, which usually rarely happens without some mess.

Given that, you’d think I’d be the poster child for downright genius.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2013 1:21 pm

    yes! I love this!

  2. July 19, 2013 2:13 pm

    hooray for the 5! I’m addicted to googling. I’m amazed at how it knows what I want. haha

Leave a Reply

