Skip to content

Stirring notes

July 21, 2013

The Baton Rouge Sparkette was home for the weekend.  We fed her, took her with us to see a local production of Les Mis, and generally enjoyed her company.  And just like most visits go, there came a point where she said to me what she usually says:

“Hey, have you heard _______?”

And then she names some band or some CD that most of the time I’ve indeed not experienced.  This visit was no different.

We hopped in the van to run a few errands and she immediately grabbed the iPod connector to play some music for us.

“Have you heard any Pas Neos?”, she asked.

“Any what?”

“Pas Neos.”

“No.  Never heard of them.”

She explained that they were out of IHOP (International House of Prayer) and began playing her favorite tracks from the Who Do You Say That I Am? CD.  Except every track she played she claimed to be her favorite, the one she loved the most.  It took me no time at all to understand why.

I have a confession to make.  I really don’t like most “contemporary Christian” music.   I find most of it downright insipid and devoid of any deep creativity.  My favorite bands tend to be comprised of either believers who don’t bother trying to keep within the limitations of the label for their music, or complete pagans who don’t know they’re not supposed to do certain things and simply chase the creative spark placed in them by the God they don’t  yet know.  While there are some contemporary worship recordings that I like a lot, I don’t place those in the same category as typical CCM.  CCM just doesn’t float my boat.

But this Pas Neos stuff?  Um…wow.  Seriously…wow.  Wildly creative music.  Intense lyrics with incredible depth.  I haven’t heard music like this since David Crowder left the scene.   Music that engages me body, soul, and spirit.  Music that ignites things I can’t name…but can surely feel.

I found a video of Pas Neos performing a song from their first album, The Wheat and the Tares.  I’m not familiar with the album, but this song is pretty amazing in structure and sound.  Who knew a song about the story of Joshua could be so cool?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

