Skip to content

Legacy

July 31, 2013

Life is funny.  You get dropped on this planet, take a bunch of trips around the sun, and then you’re gone.  It happens so fast.

In the past couple of weeks the entertainment world has lost two of its own.  Cory Monteith, one of the stars of the television show Glee, died at the age of 31.  He was a talented singer with a lot of potential.  He died alone in his hotel room, having consumed an overdose of cocaine and alcohol.  All signs point to it being an accidental death.

Last Saturday Kidd Kraddick, the host of a nationally syndicated morning radio talk show, died unexpectedly in New Orleans at the age of 53.   Preliminary reports  are citing heart disease as the cause of death.  Kidd was in New Orleans for a golf tournament benefitting Kidd’s Kids, his foundation to provide chronically or terminally ill children with an unforgettable adventure with their families.

Both of these men were so young.  It appears that neither had any idea he was about to die.  The death of Cory Monteith speaks of tragedy and is a cautionary tale.  The death of Kidd Kraddick speaks of legacy.

I’ve heard testimony after testimony of Kidd Kraddick’s generosity and hopeful spirit, people saying that they would not be where they are today if not for him.  He shared his knowledge, his resources, and his heart freely, and people are still stepping up to the plate to declare the impact of that.  Though he’s considered the father of the modern morning radio talk show, pioneering the format of a team-led program, it is very evident that he is remembered and valued for so much more.

Legacy.

Legacy is important to me.  I want the best of me to live on through those who were impacted by my life.  I want to make a difference.  I want the kingdom of heaven to be more entrenched on earth because I grabbed hold of it and brought it.  I want Jesus to be more honored because my life demonstrated Him to be worthy of honor.  When the memory of me is long gone from this ball of dirt, I want the effect of my having been here to still be resounding.

And I surely pray that I don’t end up a cautionary tale.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2013 1:05 am

    I have watched a legacy begin to be played out this week, as our church experienced the death of L.M. Thorne. I have been in awe of the people’s lives that were changed through his ministry. A simple man, with God’s anointing can make a huge impact in this world.

  2. Joann permalink
    July 31, 2013 8:49 am

    Your legacy is already amazing and it will just keep getting better and better!

    • July 31, 2013 10:15 am

      I pray so, Joann…that it becomes something He empowers, something far beyond what I ever dream of creating on my own.

Leave a Reply

