Skip to content

Shifting

August 25, 2013

I’m finally settling back into life, which includes this here wobbly chair in front of my computer.  I spent two weeks out of pocket, and almost half of that was at the Voice Of The Apostles conference in Orlando, sponsored by Global Awakening.  I attended VOA back in 2009 and had been trying to get back every year since then, but it just hadn’t worked out.  This year, however, the conference was within an easy day’s drive, and I had a couple traveling companions.  It finally worked out.

And it just kept on working out.

I am still processing all I saw and heard, all that happened.  I’m not sure the English language contains enough words for it.  Five days of challenge, of teaching, of practice, of impartation, of worship, of encouragement, of community.  Five days to shake off some old heavy coats and think some higher thoughts.  Five days to think some new thoughts.  Five days to rewire and refocus.  Five days of clarity.  Five days to shift direction.  Five days of encounters with the Holy Spirit, and five days of encounters with others arranged by the Holy Spirit.  Five days of not being the strangest, most intense person in the room.

Seriously, do you have any idea what a gift that last one is?  Sometimes it’s exhausting to be me.  The filtering, the translating, the toning-it-down-so-as-not-to-frighten-those-with-a-nervous-stomach.  I’m seriously considering backing off on that and letting folks come up with their own explanations for me and my me-ness and not getting too wound up over whether or not they get it right.  It takes a lot of energy to keep up with that, and frankly, I have better things to do. Life is too short to voluntarily deal with that crap.

Or too long.  I’m not sure which.

I’m not one to look for “mountaintop” experiences just for the sake of the high.  I don’t consider VOA to be a mountaintop experience anyway.  I consider it a recalibration (and perhaps a rather violent one, at that)  that helps me be more authentically me and positions me to step further into my potential, until I actually become the person God sees in His heart when He looks at me.

It’s gonna be wild, it’s gonna be great, it’s gonna be full of Me…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2013 12:28 pm

    It was a beautiful week…even more beautiful the further away I get from it.

  2. August 26, 2013 9:11 pm

    Awesome 5 days for you!! Yay! And I think you should just be you spiritually… Whatever God tells you that means …God will help them figure it out!

Leave a Reply

