Skip to content

Fort Hideaway

August 29, 2013

I think I should like to make a fort out of the sofa and the coffee table and my grandmother’s quilt.

I will put lots of pillows on the floor, because all forts should have pillows on the floor.

It will be a little dark in there, but that’s ok.  All the scary stuff and the sad stuff has to stay outside the fort forever.  That’s just the way it is because those are the rules.  I didn’t make them up.

Well…maybe I did.  But they’re good rules.

I think I should also like to invite you in.  We will tell knock-knock jokes and sing Willaby Wallaby and eat big marshmallows straight from the bag.  And then I will say “what would you like to do now?” and you will say “whatever YOU want to do” and I will say “no, really, whatever YOU want to do” and this will go on until it occurs to us that perhaps one of the cats would like to come in with us.

Except the cats never want to come in with us, but why be deterred by annoying details?

Then we will talk about our favorites. That will take a long time because we have a lot of favorites. Everyone should.

We won’t get bored but eventually you’ll say you have to pee, because you always do, and we’ll intend to pick up right where we left off when you get back.  But somehow the spell is broken for the day, and we know it’s time to fold up the quilt and set the table for supper.

But there’s always tomorrow afternoon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tessa permalink
    August 30, 2013 2:37 am

    This is about my childhood…I could remember making tents while you were describing it. I could smell my Mamaw Fulton’s house, and remember what the carpet felt like underneath me. Gee how I love your stories !!

    • August 30, 2013 9:57 am

      You and I could have some fun in a fort, Tessa… :)

Leave a Reply

