Skip to content

Following the leader

August 30, 2013

Five Minute Fridays – Write for 5 straight minutes whatever is on your mind with no surplus of time spent editing or proof reading. 5 Minutes is the minimum, max is up to you and your creative juices. 

Ready, Set, Go!

I remember being a kid and playing “Follow the Leader”.  You had to walk behind the designated leader and do whatever the leader did.  Simple enough.  And the principle is pretty good for general life application.  Leaders set the course and the standard.  When they fail to do so, the result is inevitably entropy and chaos.

I don’t like entropy and chaos.  I don’t dig life becoming one big mosh pit.  I like knowing who is in charge and what is expected.  I like to know the standard expected of me.  And then I like to surpass it, if possible and reasonable.

I like order and I like excellence.  Please do not read that as “I like regimentation and perfectionism”.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  I like free.  I like flow.  And it can sometimes look like chaos, but it’s not.  No more than a river could be called chaotic because it won’t stand still or stop making waves.

But sometimes I feel like I’m on alert to move forward and there’s nobody ahead of me setting the course or the standard…and since I don’t know the course or the standard, I don’t know what to do.  I don’t know how to move.  I keep hoping God will send someone who knows what they’re doing to offer some counsel and encouragement and guidance.  I feel the pressure of unwritten rules, the kind that nobody talks about until you accidentally break one.  And I want to operate in order and excellence, but that’s pretty much impossible without leadership, because without leadership there is no order to which to offer excellence.

It’s a conundrum, for sure.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joann permalink
    August 31, 2013 12:07 am

    Maybe you are the standard bearer.

Leave a Reply

