Skip to content

The refusal

August 31, 2013

It’s one of those nights where I find myself staring at a blank blogging screen, knowing that I could easily create a blog post out of fluff and nonsense that would meet the basic qualifications for Sparky’s Blog Challenge.  Sometimes my thoughts get restless and become exceedingly difficult to pin down into words, and it become easier to talk about the price of gas and avocados than what’s really rumbling through my brain.

$3.33 at the cheap joints and $1.49 each at the commissary, respectively.

What is really on my mind:

“Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing.”  -Jesus (Matthew 23:37)

He wasn’t speaking to the lost, but to those who staunchly believed they were found.

He wanted to love, but they wanted rules.  He offered mercy, but they preferred a checklist.

Just tell us what to do.  Just tell us the rules.  Yes or no, black or white.  Make us a list that defines righteousness and we’ll take it from there, thanks.

His words for the religious leaders that day were sharp and pointed.  But they had numbed themselves to love and couldn’t feel the razor cut of His admonition.

I’m not sure things have changed all that much in the past 2000 years.

It’s still easier to follow rules than it is to get embroiled in that messy love-and-grace business.  It’s still easier to deal with principles than mercy.

I look at a world that is fractured to the core because it has not known love.  I think of the places where I’ve hesitated to love freely because of principles, traditions, belief systems that say that a person’s choices negate his or her right to be embraced with love and mercy.  But since when do I have the right to judge another person’s sowing and then bestow upon them the harvest of my disapproval or condemnation?  Broken people sow broken seeds and reap broken harvests.  It should never come as a surprise.

And the only cure for brokenness is love.

Please…do not let me become numb to love.  I trust Your words to me, even if they are razor sharp.  Just do not let me forget love.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

