Skip to content

Five Minute Friday: Compensating

September 6, 2013

Five Minute Fridays – Write for 5 straight minutes whatever is on your mind with no surplus of time spent editing or proof reading. 5 Minutes is the minimum, max is up to you and your creative juices.

Ready, Set, Go!

It’s been two days since the PA drew a mess of fluid off my left knee and then injectedt it with cortisone.  When he finished he told me that during these sorts of issues the brain and the quadricep muscle stop talking to one another effectively, and that I’d probably need to start working it a little bit to get communication going again.  I thought that sounded a little nuts…after all, it wasn’t my quad that was giving me problems.  But I thanked him and filed the info away.

All of Wednesday my knee just ached.  On Thursday the pain started receding, though, and suddenly I could actually feel how unstable my knee had become, something I couldn’t discern as long as I was battling pain.

And gee…my quad was both tight and weak, and doing a lousy job of supporting me.  Imagine that.

Today I’ve experienced even less pain, but I’ve been even more aware that over the past months I’ve learned to operate as much as possible without involving my quadricep muscle.  The result?  My body mechanics are all out of whack, and I’m carrying pain and stiffness in places where there aren’t any injuries.  It was my way of compensating for the area where there really was an injury.

Compensating may be helpful for coping, but coping isn’t the same as healing.

That is as true for souls as it is for bodies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

