Skip to content

What shall I remember?

September 11, 2013

Remember, remember, they cried.

What shall I remember?

I shall remember how it was once so dark I could not see, but you were light and you came to sit with me until my eyes adjusted to the brilliance and darkness lost its power.

I shall remember how my every movement left a trail of blood and I could not stop it and it would not heal, but you touched me and your strength flowed into me as I ceased losing my blood and began gaining yours.

I shall remember how I once walked a narrow path, harassed by the screams and blows from the shadows, but you handed me your sword and taught me how to use it and did not leave me when it was you I wounded instead of them, and because of you I still walk a narrow path but am now armed and dangerous.

I shall remember how the chains were once so heavy and I was so weak, but you were a flood of power and freedom, and iron was no match for you as it dissolved at your word.

I remember how hope and life were draining from me as I tried to be satisfied with a cold existence marked by powerlessness and starvation, but then you came and you breathed on me and your fire began to burn in my bones.

I remember destruction only as a doorway to redemption.  I remember redemption to remember you.  And you are You, and always have been and always will be.

And I cannot forget.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laural permalink
    September 11, 2013 12:52 pm

    Love, love, LOVE this! Yes. Thank you Lisa :)

  2. September 11, 2013 1:58 pm

    Breathtaking! Thank you for putting such beautiful words together and painting such a powerful picture.

  3. September 13, 2013 10:51 am

    Holy smokes. This is so good.

Leave a Reply

